Fulton County, Indiana
From The Rochester News-Sentinel
Selected, copied and indexed by Wendell C. Tombaugh
Special thanks to Jack K. Overmyer for suggesting the Title.
= = = = = = = = = = =
The Sentinel, Feb. 3, 1966
The Indiana Motor Bus company station will be moved from the Arlington hotel building at Seventh and Main streets, to the Bussert Taxi company office at 104 West Fifth street Tuesday.
The bus station has been at the hotel building for many years. The hotel was closed to all but a few special guests in September, 1962 and the bus station service in the lobby was changed from a 24-hour servce to a part-time basis.
The Arlington building was sold at public auction to Fred Senger, owner of M. Wile & Son department store, in November of 1964.
BLUE PROD. CO.
Pur Garry Daniels
The Sentinel, Feb. 8, 1966
Sale of the Blue Products company, 130 East Eighth street, to Charles G. (Garry) Daniels of Rochester was announced today by Dea Fultz former owner.
Daniels already has assumed ownership and will operate the business under the name of Blue Products Company, Inc. Fultz will remain in association with the firm.
Blue Products, which has been here 25 years, deals in general cleaning supplies for household, industrial, commercial and institutional use. The store also offers a retail line of cleaning supplies, paints, sweepers and appliances, and household cleanng items.
Founded in Cleveland, the firm was moved here in 1940 by the late Earle Miller. Fultz purchased the company in 1954.
Daniels, a Rochester resident since 1936, is a graduate of Rochester high school and attended Indiana university. For 13 years, he was associated with the J.E. Hahn Company Inc., Indianapolis, distributor of stapling and packaging equipment. He was sales manager for the firm until resigning to purchase the local business.
Daniels and his wife Zanna, reside east of the city on Ind. 14 with their four children.
TAYLOR’S Shoe Store
Pur Robert Rowe
The Sentinel, March 2, 1966
The sale of Taylor’s Shoe Store, 725 Main street, to Robert Rowe of Huntington was announced today by Mrs. Orbra Taylor, owner.
Rowe took possession of the business Tuesday. He said that he will continue its operation under the same name.
Orbra Taylor, who had owned the store since 1937, died at the age of 74 years on Feb. 1. He had been associated with the firm for 59 years, under previous ownership by his grand-father, Sylvester Alspach, and his uncle, Guy Alspach.
Once known as the Hub Shoe Store, the Taylor’s site has been the location of a shoe business over 80 years.
Rowe, the new owner, said that Mark Scheiber of Huntington will be the resident manager of the store. Scheiber, who is single, already is on the job and is residing here.
Mrs. Ada Stansell will remain on the staff as a full-time clerk with Hazel Morgan continuing as part-time clerk.
Rowe is owner of Brown and Rowe Inc., retail shoe store in Huntington. It was founded 42 years ago by his father, the late Elmer Rowe, who was a longtime close friend of Orbra Taylor.
Rowe said that Taylor’s would continue to offer the same lines of high-quality shoes for the family. These include Florsheim, Roblee and Pedwin for men, Naturalizer and Life Stride for women, Buster Brown and Robin Hood for children, plus Hush Puppies for men, women and children.
In addition, said Rowe, a high-fashion line of women’s shoes, Town and Country, will be added.
The Sentinel, March 8, 1966
A Pizza King, featuring a complete line of pizzas, submarine sandwiches and ham and cheese sandwiches, will be opened in Rochester by Mr. & Mrs. Max Anderson, Converse.
Pizza King is a chain of pizza businesses that includes outlets in Lafayette, Kokomo, Marion and Converse. The Rochester store will be at 915 East Ninth street, formerly occupied by the Biddinger and Dye music firm.- - - - -
This will be the first venture into business for Max and Winnifred Anderson. He is employed by the Chrysler plant in Kokomo. The Andersons and their two boys, Cary, 4-1/2, and Greg, 2-1/2, are living in a home on the west side of Lake Manitou owned by Garl Hopper of Rochester.
Owner, Don Harvey
The Sentinel, March 10, 1966
Don Harvey has opened the TV-Appliance store at 330 East Ninth street in quarters formerly occupied by S&J Cleaners, which has moved diagonally across the street.- - - -
Harvey, who operated a television sales and service business in his home near Athens for five years, has a full line of General Electric television sets, radios, refrigerators, freezers, washers, ranges, dish washrs, air conditioners and smaller appliances.
James Adams is a part-time service and salesman for the store, with Adams’ wife serving as full-time clerk and Harvey’s wife as part-time.
Owner James Watrous
The Sentinel, March 10, 1966
The Watrous paint store is slated to be opened Monday by Mr. & Mrs. James Watrous at 423 East Ninth street, where the Farm Bureau Co-op office formerly was located.
Watrous and his wife Mary Alice have purchased the Smith-Alsop paint franchise from the Fulton County Lumber company and will have a complete line of colors and shades. - - - -
In Remodeled Bldg
The Sentinel, March 14, 1966
The Rochester Independent Order of Odd Fellows lodge, 119 years old this year, now is meeting in a newly-remodeled building at 231 East Eighth street that formerly housed the Rochester Church of the Nazarene.
Both the ground floor and the basement of the frame structure have been redone completely to provide a suitable location for formal meetings and for recreational purposes. Members of the lodge have done almost all the work.
The IOOF sold its former building, on the northwest corner of Ninth and Main streets, in February of 1965. The lodge had met there for 90 years.
Auto Motor Blocks
The Sentinel, May 27, 1966
A romance with a motor block, you might say.
This is a story about a Rochester man whose romance with motor blocks, and what makes them tick, began in the early 1920s with the rebuilding of a “Fronty.”
Geiger, better known as “Gig” Gilliland, 61, then was a high school sophomore who wanted to “soup up” an old Frontenac auto block, so he could perhaps one day race it, or have it raced, at the Indianapolis Speedway.
That meant changing his thinking from just play work to real honest work. He had his start at his father’s garage on the rear of the lot at Seventh and Madisonj streets, adjacent to the present City Hall.
He was successful in getting the “Fronty” to work. That brought inquiries from local and far-away Model T owners to rebuild Ford-manufactured motor blocks. This included reshaping by grinding the crankshaft, welding and babbeting rocker arms, cylinders, reboring motor blocks and many other necessary components of the motors of those days, 1925-1940.
Meanwhile, “Gig’s” knowledge and know-hoiw spread, first within the immediate area, then statewide, then throughout the midwest. Today his rebuilt motors are operating in every state in the nation, almost all Canadian provinces and in many Mexican states.
Gilliland craftsmanship, starting in 1924, has improved through
the years. “Gig” now has eight employees, all master mechanics, and all taught by him. When he began his Model T motor rebuilding, which was a specialty then as now, a good year would bring in $2,500, Today that specialty has grown to a $3,000-plus per week business.
This does not include his auto parts business, which is a separate operation as he hastens to advise his callers.
In the good old days, says “Gig,” a good mechanic was worth 25 cents an hour, and a cracker-jack could make 50 cents an hour. Today his least paid specialist-mechanic is an apprentice at $3 an hour.
The Sentinel spent an hour with “Gig” as he proudly moved about his immaculate shop, caressing the machinery as if it were fragile in its molded metal, somewhat like a gardener with his prized rose bushes in bloom. He permitted us to quote his estimate of equipment at sligtly more than $100,000 and doubted if it could be replaced for near that amount.
Had he ever been offered a price for his business?
No. A few years ago he thought of selling and hinted around he would like to travel and visit auto museams in every nook and cranny of North America. When he put a price of $100,000 on his rebuilding business there were no takers. Is he glad he didn’t sell?
Yes, Gig said he wanted to keep his romance going in a lifetime business that had been so fascinating.
One piece of equipment, a huge crankshaft grinder, cost $17,000. Others include an electric welder at $6,000, a surface grinder worth $8,000 that takes care of generators, altometers and starters, and so on throughout the small but spacious shop located at the rear of his auto parts business on East Fourth street.
Gilliland’s auto motor rebuildng shop does all custom-work on a time and material basis. Each piece of work is given a job ticket which is followed by a punched time clock mark during its travel about the six-room shop until completion. No two jobs of rebuilding are alike. Some run as low as $5 and some may cost more than a $1,000.
Just recently a San Francisco customer, who had “Gig” do his work for more than a quarter century, sent a $25 job - some small bushings he wanted worked over. This week a South Bend customer came into the shop for two Model T motors he had rebuilt. Do you recall the price of a “tin lizzie” 40 years ago? Well, the rebuilding of the motor block today would have paid for one n those days.
Gig’s shop is equipped to handle anything in size from a one- lunger lawn mower motor to an eight-cylinder diesel. His is a
diversified rebuilding shop, one of three in Indiana. Others are at Evansville and Gary, so equipped and as modern. Many of his customers also are in the rebuilding business but do not have as complete an operation as is Gilliland’s.
Thus, from a start with an old “Fronty” in 1922-23, when he experimented with a racing car motor block rebuilding job, down through the antique car rebuilding craze of post World War 11 era, a hobby has become a lifetime’s romance now in its 43rd year.
If the people only knew, says “Gig,” a rebuilt motor will last three times as long as a new motor. Why? Because the reheating and tempering of metal is better.
HEADSTONE, NEW ONE
For “Uncle’ Johnny Patton
The Sentinel, May 27, 1966
A new generation has paid its respects to “Uncle” Johnny Patton, a onetime slave who found a new life in Rochester almost a century ago.
The grave of John Patton has been provided with a new headstone through the efforts of the Rochester Lions Club and Warran Tatter of the Rochester Monument company.
The old stone on Patton’s grave in the Citizens cemetery had been time-ravaged and damaged by vandals. The need for a new marker was brought to the club’s attention by Mrs. Ray Myers.
Thus it is that the story of “Uncle” Johnny Patton is recalled to today’s Rochester citizens.
He was a Negro, once a slave in the South. At the conclusion of the Civil War in 1865 he came to this city with some returning Union soldiers, now unidentified.
“Uncle” Johnny was quiet, reserved and genteel according to contemporary accounts. He settled in a frame dwelling in the southeast part of the city and soon ingratiated himself with the citizens.
He worked as a truck farmer, selling his vegetables door to door, and also did odd jobs for all who wished his servics.
Late in the century, one Silas Nye died and left his downtown peanut-popcorn stand without an operator. Local businessmen, all friends and admirers of “Uncle” Johnny bought the stand for him. For many years afterward, “Uncle” Johnny was a fixture in the popcorn wagon at the southwest corner of Main and Eighth streets.
When he died, on May 15, 1905, the townspeople provided him
with a suitable funeral service and burial.
The recent renovation of the gravestone keeps green the memory of this quiet, humble man, who, once scorned as a slave, found friendship and dignity in the later years of his life.
The Sentinel, June 6, 1966
The Geneva Study and Camp Center of the Indiana Synod, United Presbyterian church which will draw hundreds of adults and young persons every year as the main conference center of the Synod, was dedicated here Saturday.
More than 150 persons attended the ceremonies at the new complex on the west side of U.S. 31 five miles north of Rochester in the Glaze Hill area.
The dedication came almost one year to the date after ground was broken on the 200-acre site June 25, 1965 and some seven years after it first was decided that a new Presbyterian conference center was needed.
The new facilities replace Camp Kosciusko at Winona Lake, which was put into operation almost 60 years ago and which became inadequate to the needs of the Indiana Synod.
The Geneva Center will be used year round for conferences and study groups, with activity swelling in the summer as youth camps are conducted.
Several meetings were conducted last month even before the official dedication.
The center has a large main building housing assembly and conference rooms, administration offices, sleeping quarters for staff, dining and kitchen facilities. North of the main structure is a swimming pool while to the west are summer cabins couched in a rolling, wooded area.
Work still remains to be done at the site especially landscaping and surfacing of driveway and parking areas. - - - - -
The Sentinel, June 17, 1966
Jim and Jewell Norris, formerly of Lafayette, are the new owners of the Kewanna Farm Bureau elevator. The Fulton County
Farm Bureau Co-op sold the business to the Norrises effective May 28 and the new owners began operation June 6.
The Co-op will continue to operate elevators at Rochester and Fulton, said Maurice Coplen, general manager.
Norris has been a territory manager for two large feed firms and previously was assoiated with his father’s firm, the Norris Feed Mill in Pennville, Ind.
Now known as the Norris Farm Service, the elevator offers a complete line of Supersweet Feeds and Animal Health Products. Expansion of the fertilizer division also is planned.- - - -
The Norises have four children - Kimberly, 2; Timmy, a fourth grader; Connie, in the sixth grade and Lonnie a seventh grader.
To Change Hands
The Sentinel, June 25, 1966
People’s Restaurant, 707 Main street, will move to the Courthouse View Cafe quarters at 719 Main street, Monday, bringing to a close a 16-year restaurant career here for Mr. & Mrs. Ted Pederson.
The Pedersons have sold their Courthouse View business to Mrs. Marie Norris, owner of People’s Restaurant. Today will be the last day of operation for Mrs. Norris at People’s present location.
The Courthouse View will be open Sunday, with Mrs. Norris taking over the location Monday. - - - -
Mrs. Norris has operated People’s Restaurant for the last eight years.
The Pedersons began their restaurant career here in 1950 when they took over the Airport Grill on Ind. 14 East of Rochester. About 1-1/2 years later they opened the Courthouse View Cafe at 114 East Eighth street, where the Chester White Swine Record associaion now is located.
In 1955, the restaurant was moved around the corner to its present location. In March, 1964, the restaurant was remodeled, with new ceiling, wall paneling and light fixtures installed.
Plymouth City Park
The Sentinel, June 28, 1966
The Baldwin family 66th reunion was held Sunday at the Plymouth City Park. A basket dinner was served at noon to 65 members and guests.
Officers elected for next year are: president, John Baldwin; vice-president, Boyd Henderson, and secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Alice Bowers.
The group will meet June 25, 1967 at the same place.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, June 29, 1966
The 44th annual Harmon family reunion was held Sunday at City Park. A basket dinner was served at noon and ice cream in the afternoon to 56 guests. Ed and Marjorie Maglecic were elected officers. The group decided to meet again next year.
MT. ZION SCHOOL REUN
Van Duyne Block & Gravel
The Sentinel, July 8, 1966
Former pupils and teachers of the old one-room Mt. Zion school held their ninth reunion at the Van Duyne Block and Gravel Company grounds Monday. There were 30 people attending the July 4th event.
John Dixon offered a prayer before the basket dinner was served at noon. A business meeting followed with the same officers reelected. Josepine Swihart of Elkhart is president.
Prizes went to Fred Van Duyne, only teacher present, and Emma Weaver, oldest pupil present. Prizes also went to Bobby McFarland of Clergrove, Fla., Robert Van Duyne, Margaret Holdread and Mrs. Harold Beaudoin.
Joe Dixon of Groveland, Fla., gave a historical report on Fulton county with emphasis on the Mt. Zion community. Oct. 14, 1873 a church was organized by the Methodist, United Brethren and Evangelical Lutherans members which became the Presbyterian church at Mt. Zion. The church stood on the grounds where the picnic was held. The land was higher at that time, however,before the gravel was removed.
Others from out of town were Mr. & Mrs. Henry Dixon of
Auburn; John Dixon of Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. W. Harold King of Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Wood of South Bend; and Mr. & Mrs. Elson Holdread and son of Plymouth.
Local people present were Mrs. Pearl Moore, Miss Clarice Moore, Mrs. Arthur Weaver Sr., Mrs. Albert Wood, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Zeller Sr., Mr. & Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Mrs. R.B. Zimmerman and family, Miss Susan Crill, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mrs. Emma Weaver and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.
The group will meet again next year at the same location July 4.
STHRN NITROGEN CO
The Sentinel, July 12, 1966
Southern Nitrogen Company Inc., has completed its new plant at Fulton with Joseph Leavell of Fulton as plant manager.
The storage at Fulton consists of two tanks with total capacity of 5,000,000 gallons - 25,000 tons - of liquid fertilizer. One of the tanks is 135 feet across and 30 feet high with a capacity of 3,000,000 gallons. The other is 90 feet across and 40 feet high with a capacity of 2,000,000 gallons.
It takes 500 railroad cars to fill the tanks. The liquid fertilizer is moved from the tanks to local and surrounding area dealers within a radius of 200 miles.
The Fulton plant is a modern, push-button terminal that can load a truck transport with 24 tons in 16 minutes. It has facilities for unloading four railroad cars at one time in three hours.
The plant has a 100,000-pound capacity scales with the electrical panels located in the main office.
Southern Nitrogen has two similar terminals in Illinois and a large manufacturing plant in Cincinnati, O. The Midwest sales office is in Decatur, Ill., with the home office at Savannah, Ga.
R.F. Gundrum, Liberty township trustee, said, “Liberty township is happy to welcome a fine company such as Southern Nitrogen and has many other excellent locations available for other plants with C&O railroad connections available.”
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 14, 1966
The descendants of Israel Overmyer met for their 27th annual reunion Sunday at the City Park. Mrs. Ralph Ludwig offered the prayer before the basket dinner was served.
Present for the dinner were: Mr. & Mrs. John Reinholt of Delong; Mr. & Mrs. Glen Wilson, Mr. & Mrs. Ludwig, Mr. & Mrs. Orval Long, Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and grandson, Bill Cauffman, all of Rochester; Mrs. Carmen Kath and Merble Chapman of Tiosa.
Relatives who met with the group for the afternoon were Mrs. Hazel Yelton of Delong; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Reiff of Larwill; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Archer of Pierceton; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Overmyer of Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Marshall and son, David, of Bremen; and Mrs Harley Zumbaugh and son, Herschel, of Tiosa.
Mrs. Kath conducted a short business meeting in the absence of the president, Lester Overmyer of South Bend. The secretary, Mrs. Alber, then read the report of last year’s reunion. Mrs. Kath was elected president, secretary and trasurer for the year. Serving with her will be Mrs. Ludwig as vice president.
The Sentinel, July 15, 1966
Rochester Normal university closed 54 years ago, but the friendships developed durng the years it was open brought 54 schoolmates together again Sunday.
The reunion was held at the Colonial hotel on Lake Manitou where the dinner was served at small tables decorated with garden and wild flowers. Grace was offered by the Rev. Clyde Walters before the meal.
Ray Myers, president, was in charge of the business meeting and program. Mrs. Raymond McVay read the minutes and financial report for 1965. Roll was answered with maiden names, present names, addresses and number of years attended.
Mrs. Eula Berrier read the names of the seven members who died since the last meeting, including Mrs. Lucille Leonard and Hugh McMahan. Mrs. Berrier then read the poem “This Old Clay House” and “There’s Sunshine in Your Smile.”
Earl Hicks of Kokomo led the group in singing several songs
while Mrs. Myers provided accompaniment.
After discussion the group decided to continue the annual reunion. The nominating committee made the following report: Ray Myers, president; Earl Hicks, vice president; and Mrs. Berrier, secretary-treasurer.
Those present from Rochester were: Pete Adamson, Minnie Alexander, Mr. & Mrs. Dee Berrier, Mr. & Mrs. Mahlon Bair, Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna, Mrs. George Felder, Mr. & Mrs. George Gould, Mr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Mrs. Pearl Hiland and Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Myers, Belva Miller, Edna Sheets, Mrs. Reba Shore, Mrs. Bertha Stahl, the Rev. & Mrs. Clyde Walters, Ethel Snapp and Emily Von Ehrenstein. Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn were unable to attend due to Mrs. Ginn’s illness.
Others present were Mr. & Mrs. Otta Babcock of Waterman, Ill.; Elizabeth Babcock of Indianapolis; V.L. Barker of Huntington, W. Va.; Mr. & Mrs. Roy Gasaway of Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Earl Hicks of Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Blaine Hurst of Macy; and Mrs. Lula Kroft and Saybra Rice of Logansport.
Also, Charles Lucas of Bass Lake; Mr. & Mrs. W.R. McClary of South Bend; Golda Polen of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. John Savage and Mr. & Mrs. Russell Smith of Macy; Mrs. Tessa Stayton of Mishawaka; Mrs. Grace Stinson and Feral Skidmore of Athens; Mrs. Edith Wolfe of South Bend; Mrs. Edith Merley of Akron; Bert Kent and Mrs. Sylvia Jewell of Fulton; and Mrs. Gladys Maple of Waterman, Ill.
The Sentinel, July 15, 1966
The Edward Francis Stubbs 35th annual reunion was held Sunday at the park in Akron. There were 32 descendants attending the basket dinner.
The business meeting was conducted by Ronald L. Murray, president pro-tem. A collection was taken by Karen Murray. Avaughn Murray of Leiters Ford, was elected president. Also elected were Walter Stubbs of Monterey, vice-president; and Inez Murray of Rochester, secretary-treasurer. They were elected for their third consecutive term.
A committee composed of Malene Stubbs, Mr. & Mrs. William L. Stubbs and Mr. & Mrs. Ronald Murray provided games and
contests and later served ice cream.
Relatives attending from LaPorte, South Bend, Mishawaka, Bremen, Delong, Leiters Ford, Akron, Culver and Rochester. Mrs. Mattie McIntire was the oldest member present and Joe Allen Murray the youngest.
The next gathering will be held the last Sunday in June, 1967, at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Joe Kistler, at the Lake of the Woods near Bremen.
The Sentinel, July 16, 1966
Foley’s Jewelers, establishd in Rochester in 1958, will be open for business Monday morning at its third location in the city - 622 Main street. The building formrly was the local office of Public Service Indiana.
Eugene Foley, founder of the jewelry firm, has completely remodeled the interior of the new location after having moved the business from the Arlington hotel building.- - - - -
A native of near Delphi in Carroll county, Foley has resided in Fulton county since 1936. A four-year veteran of World War 11, he was a combat airman in the U.S. Air force. Mrs. Foley is his assistant at the store.
REUN, Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 19, 1966
The Fisher - Hudson - Swan families met at the City Park recently. Attending from Rochester were Mr. & Mrs. Don Fisher and Terry, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Switzer, Mark and Bill, Mr. & Mrs. Roy L. Fisher and William, Mr. & Mrs. Ora Fisher and Mr. & Mrs. Doyle Fisher, Debbie and Rickey.
Others were Mrs. Lia Jefferies, formerly Mrs. Otto Swan of Largo, Fla.; Mr. & Mrs. John W. Swan of Lagro; Mr. & Mrs. Schuyler Hudson, Jo Deane, Jon and Julie of Lapel; Miss Glenda Beek, Kenneth D. Fisher, Mary Snyder, Richard and Linda Snyder, all of South Bend; Dr. & Mrs. Karl Hudson of Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Ivan Hudson and Joe Hudson of North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Verl R. Peterson, Mr. & Mrs. Vernon R. Peterson and Vernon Jr., of Monterey; Mr. & Mrs. Homer L. Fisher of Delong; Mr. & Mrs. Larry L. Rice, Douglas and
Rhonda, of Wabash; Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Fisher, Cindy and Donni of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Arnie Fisher and Paul, of Denver; and Jim Hudson of Marion.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 20, 1966
The reunion of the George A. Burns family was held Sunday at the City Park. Attending were Estill Burns, Mr. & Mrs. Lonny Burns, all of Wabash; Mr. & Mrs. Claude Burns of Gilead; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Ihnen, Mr. & Mrs. Delbert Haupert and daughters, Diann, Kathy and Shirley, all of North Manchester; and Mr. & Mrs. Dean Burns and children, Jeffrey, Joyce and Brian of Macy.
Also, Mrs. Max Burns, Mr. & Mrs. Jackie Burns and children, Mona, Lee and Jimmy, all of Kokomo; Mrs. Howard Shepler and children, Kimmie and David, Mrs. Ivan Burns, Jr., and children, Carol and Jimmy, and Miss Goldie Burns, all of Akron.
The third Sunday in July, 1967, is the date set for the next reunion.
Burger Dairy Store
Owner, Harold Collins
The Sentinel, July 21, 1966
Mr. & Mrs. Harold Collins of Rochester today opened the new Burger Dairy Store at 216 Ninth street following extnsive remodeling of the quarters formerly occupied by Sutter’s Dairy.
Collins, who has managed produce departments at stores in Rochester for 16 years, said Burger’s will feature a fresh produce department, frozen foods, drugs, bakery and many grocery items in addition to Burger Dairy products. - - - -
The Sentinel, July 28, 1966
The Musselman reunion was held Sunday at the Fish and Game clubhouse at Nyona Lake. Those attending were Mr. & Mrs. Glen Musselman of Terre Haute; Mr. & Mrs. Don Musselman, of Warsaw; Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Musselman, Mr. & Mrs. Ronnie Powel, Mr. & Mrs. Richard McClure and family, Mr. & Mrs. Frank Savage and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Bryant and family and Mr. & Mrs. Weldon
Sherrard and family, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Sam Smith, Jim Smith and family of Indianapolis.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Myron Zartman of Beloit, Wis. Mr. & Mrs. Robert Via and son of Lombard, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Gentile and son of Silver Springs, Md.; Bill Savage of Marion, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Kain and family of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Tom Ewer of Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Vernon Burns of Fulton, Mrs. Glen Powell and Mr. & Mrs. Devon Burket of Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Oren Musselman and Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Savage and Steve of Macy. It was the first reunion this group has had.
Scott Stinson Res
The Sentinel, July 28, 1966
Mr. & Mrs. Scott Stinson were hosts for a family reunion held at their farm northeast of town Sunday, July 24. Those attending were: Mr. & Mrs. J.M. Stinson and son of Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Cook and daughter of Ft. Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. S.A. Sisulak of Kankakee, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. John Sisulak and Mr. & Mrs. O.O. Frederickson and family of Des Plains, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Scott Stinson, Jr., Mr. & Mrs. Art Stinson and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Scott N. Stinson, Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Rheingas and sons, and Gary Stinson of Milwaukee, Wis.; Mrs. Amy Walton. A grandson of Carbondale, Ill., was unable to attend. Mr. & Mrs. Stinson were also celebrating their birthdates.
Pioneer, O.D. Ross
The Sentinel, July 28, 1966
The history of electric service in Rochester began more than three-quarters of a century ago with the foresight and determination of one man.
In 1889 O.D. Ross pioneered the development of electricity in this community when he started his one-man power company. The first power plant to be built in Rochester was located on Race street. Although crude in comparison with today’s complex generating and transmission systems this initial step opened the door to the energy of the future for the city’s inhabitants.
With the rapid technological development of the electric industry, Rochester’s first power plant was out-dated soon after it was
built. In 1902, a new plant was constructed at Sixth and Madison streets on the same locaton of Public Service Indiana’s new service center and headquarters building.
Four years later the power plant was organized under the name of the Rochester Electric Light, Heat and Power company. In addition to Ross, the owners at that time were J.E. Beyer, Chris Hoover, Mose Rosenbaum, Julius Silberberg, and Jacob Leiter. Beyer later became the sole owner.
In 1906, a major part of the electrical equipment - much of it purchased at the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair - was discarded and new machinery installed. At first only the business district of Rochester had electricity. Carbon lights were used in business houses and for street lighting.
By 1909 the company was not only manufacturing electric light and power and furnishing steam heat for a number of business buildings and residences, it was also opeating a cold storage plant.
For heating purposes, steam was taken from the exhaust of the engines. When the exhaust steam was not sufficient for the work, live steam was introduced into the mains by an automatic regulating valve. When steam heat became unnecessay during the summer, the Rochester Light, Heat and Power company established an ice plant to make use of the excess steam.
From 1906 to 1910 the commercial offices of the utility were located on East Eighth street at the present location of the Rochester Farmers Mutual Insurance company. In 1910 the offices were moved to the present location of the Camblin building on West Nnth street. They remained there until 1924, when they were moved to the Times theater building at 622 Main street. The utility’s commercial offices were located here for the next 42 years until June 24, 1966, when Public Service Indiana’s new buildng was completed. - - - -
In 1912 there were magnetic luminous arc street lights in Rochester suspended only over the intersections of the principal street. Presently the city of Rochester has 332 street lights - 25 fluorescents, 66 mercury-vapor and 241 incandescent lights.
The Rochester Light, Heat & Power Company was purchased in 1922 by the Northern Indiana Power company. In 1941 the utility was purchased by Public Service Indiana.
Today Public Service Indiana serves over 6,000 customers in the Rochester District, with some 2,750 in the city of Rochester and Lake Manitou.
This district also serves the communities of Akron, Athens, Chili, Deedsville, Denver, Fulton, Gilead, Lucerne, Macy, Metea, Nyona Lake, Perrysburg, Royal Center, Tiosa and Twelve Mile. In addition over 850 customers in rural areas are served by the company.
DEAN MILK CO
Mgr, Thomas L. Rose
The Sentinel, August 6, 1966
Thomas L. Rose, a Dean Milk company employee here for 12 years, has been named manager of Dean’s Rochester plant, and Richard Alber, who has been with the firm since 1956, has been chosen Rose’s successor as plant superintendent.
Rose succeeds Tom Ravencroft as plant manager, the latter having been named district manager for an area covering Indiana and Illinois. Ravencroft, a Rochester native as is Rose, became manager here in September of 1965.
Starting with Dean’s in the general labor department, Rose advanced to the position of plant superintendent two years ago. He is a 1954 graduate of Rochester high school, where he was on the basketball and football teams. He was a starter tackle on the 1953 Central Indiana Conference football championship team.
Rose and his wife Nancy have four children - Danny, Jeff, Deanne and Julie. They live at 404 Clay street. Rose is the son of Mrs. Mary Zimmerman of Rochester.
Alber, who resides at 1329 College avenue, is a Richland Center high school product and was a starter on that school’s basketball team. He is the son of Mr. & Mrs. N.M. (Pete) Alber, RR 5, Rochester. He and his wife Shirley have two children, Pam and Rick.
Ravencroft, son of Mr. & Mrs. Edward Ravencroft, 608 Jefferson street, has been a Dean employee since 1954. He and his wife, the former Janet Gohn, reside at 516 West Fourth street with their children.
Dean’s Rochester plant processes milk and its by-products, inclding cottage cheese, for retail markets in Indiana and Michigan.
The Sentinel, August 10, 1966
The Monroe and Amanda Whittenberger Morris family reunion was held Sunday at the Akron Park with the following present: Mr. &
Mrs. Joe Morris, Mr. & Mrs. George Dawald, Mary Lou and Tim; Mr. & Mrs. Addison Krom and Suzie, all of Roann; Mr. & Mrs. Jim Morris of Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Morris of Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Morris of Sarasota, Fla.; and Mr. & Mrs. Owen Malady of South Bend.
Attending from Macy were: Mr. & Mrs. Robert Sutton, Jenny and Darcy, Mr. & Mrs. Delson Morris, Ted and Melba, and Mr. & Mrs. Alden Morris, Jan, Nan and Colleen, Mike and Butch. Also, Mr. & Mrs. Hyde Todd, Mrs. Victor Fouts and Diane, all of Peru; Mr. & Mrs. John Kerlin of Silver Lake; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Tombaugh of Claypool; Mr. & Mrs. Dick Reiff of Liberty Mills; Mrs. Mary Morris, Sheila and Frank, of Wabash; Mr. & Mrs. Jay King, Mrs. Burkhart, and Dennis Eitell, all of Michigan City; Mr. & Mrs. Ellis Kline and Mr. & Mrs. Al Jennens, all of Akron.
Robert Morris was elected president of the group; Owen Malady, vice president; and Mrs. Jennens, secretary. Guests were Mr. & Mrs. Harley Rogers, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Whittenberger, all of Akron; Mr.& Mrs. Lester McGriff of Argos; and Mr. & Mrs. Noble Tombaugh of Roann.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 19 1966
The 43rd annual Hiland-Van Duyne reunion was held Sunday at the City Park. Mrs. Wade Green of South Bend, offered prayer before the basket dinner was served.
N.M. Alber was reelected president and Mrs. Marie Alber was reelected secretary-treasurer during a short business meeting. The group will meet at the same place in 1967. The marriage of Larry Alber to Sharon Brown Aug. 29, 1965 was reported as was the death of Mrs. Nettie Haschel of Winamac.
Present were Mr. & Mrs. Green, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman and family, Miss Ila Mae Wltfong, all of New Carlisle; Mrs. Gertrude Hiland of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Wilson Holderman of Plymouth; and Mr. & Mrs. Alber.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 24, 1966
The 28th reunion of the Thomas K. Imel family was held Sunday at the City Park. Attending were Mr. & Mrs. Charley Artist,
Mr. & Mrs. Cletus Artist and family, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Rouser and family, Mr. & Mrs. Roy Imel and family, all of Rochester; Fred Stults, Mrs. Bertha Johnson, the Delbert Johnson family, Miss Cheryl Ruple, Mr. & Mrs. Gerald Kile, Mrs. Ethel Bailey, Ralph Whipple, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Shawver and family, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Sasser and Walter Bailey, all of Portland.
Also, Francis Artist, Miss Marlene Artist, Jerry, Boblin and Mrs. Myrtle Sipots, all of Chicago, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Lucian Steinbaugh, and family, Mrs. Lois Imel, Miss Rose Imel, Billy Imel, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Bailey and family, the Lee Calloway family, the Bill Young family, and Mr. & Mrs. Carroll DeGroff, all of South Bend; and the Misses Pat and Sharon Hazen of Knox.
Kewanna Metal Spectls.
Buys Johnon-Stuart Bldg.
The Sentinel, Oct 28, 1966
Kewanna Metal Specialties, which had its origin in 1959 and consolidated its ownership by Allen Finke, a Kewanna resident, has entered into a contract to purhase a building four blocks west of Kewanna. The building is being bought from Johnson-Stuart Co., and the factory expects to move there sometime during next month.
The area will be used for manufacturing and will give Kewanna Metal Specialties establishment 51,000 square feet. However, the main office will still remain in the heart of Kewanna.
The firm now has 25 employees and a sales force of six covering Indiana, Illinois Wisconsin, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio and West Virginia.
Phoebe Snow, Last Trip
The Sentinel, Nov. 28, 1966
Hammond, Ind. (AP) - The Phoebe Snow, a passenger train with
a legacy of speed and comfort dating back more than 60 years, rolled through Decatur, Huntington, Rochester and Hammond this morning on the last lap of a trip to oblivion.
And so the crack train became a memory as it completed the westbound leg of its regular round trip between Chicago and Hoboken, N.J.
Some old friends of the Phoebe Snow were bitter.
Mrs. Albert Howe of Wellesville, N.Y., made the last eastward
run Sunday night after boarding in Huntington, Ind. She said she was very unhappy about it because the railroads today are “interested only in the dollar, not interested in little people who don’t want to fly.”
Mrs. Howe, in her 70s, spent the holidays with a son, Dr. Fordyce L. Howe, in Fort Wayne.
Herbert Herendeen, general yardmaster at Huntington, said the train’s demise was “like losing an old friend.”
Erie Lackawanna railroad officials said the train was canceled because of rising costs and declining passengers.
The westbound Phoebe Snow was filled to capacity, an unusual sight in recent years. Railroad officials said many passengers apparently had chosen to make part or all of the trip out of feeling of nostalgia.
The Phoebe Snow name was coined to emphasize the cleanliness of the ride in the days when passengers commonly were begrimed with soot thrown back from soft-coal-burning engines.
The Phoebe Snow used hard anthracite coal, which produced little soot or smoke.
The train was discontinued during World War 1, when the government ordered that all locomotives use soft coal.
Robbins Farm Implements
Pur Charles Fear
The Sentinel, Dec. 16, 1966
C. Howard Robbins today announced the sale of his farm implement business at 415 Main street to Charles Fear, Rochester township farmer. The new owner will take possession Monday.
The firm was begun here in 1931 by Charles Robbins, father of Howard. The latter has been associated in the business sine 1946. He said he has no immediate plans for the future.
Fear said that the business will be operated under the name of C. Fear & Sons Farm Supplies.
The Robbins line of equipment will be augmented, said Fear, by the addition of BSB grain handling equipment, Farmer automatic feeding equipment, sprayers and farm chemicals. Fear has sold this equipment for seven years in connection with the operation of his 160-acre farm seven miles south-west of the city.
The Robbins firm also offers New Holland and Gehl forage and hay machinery, New Idea uni-systems, corn pickers, mowers and manure spreaders; Kewannee augurs and elevators and Simplicity
Fear has resided in the local community since 1948, coming from Knox. He and his wife, Shirley, have three sons, Ross, Stephen and Larry. Fear is past president of the Fulton County Farmers, Union, director of the Rochester School Building Corporation, member of Fulton Masonic Lodge and attends the Grace Methodist church.
ROCH LDRY & DRY CLG
Destroyed by Fire
The Sentinel, Dec. 16, 1966
A $60,000 fire destroyed the Rochester Laundry and Dry Cleaning Inc., building at 722 Monroe street early this morning and put 16 persons out of work.
The business is owned by W.H. (Bill) Carpenter, 1230 Jackson boulevard, who made the damage estimate. He estimated $20,000 loss to the cement block and frame building and $40,000 loss to its contents.
The loss is partially covered by insurance, he said. - - - - -
FULTON CO. HOME
Pur, Robert Peterson
The Sentinel, Dec. 17, 1966
State Senator Robert Peterson, Rochester attorney, Friday afternoon purchased the 172-acre Fulton County Home farmland on his high bid of $70,500.
Thus, on the third try, the county disposed of the abandoned facility, which had been closed Jan. 1 of this year as obsolete.- - - - -
The County Home had been operated 95 years as a residenc for the county’s indigent persons.
Mgr, Richard Gearhart
The Sentinel, January 6, 1967
Richard Gearhart was named today by Wilts Supermarket Inc., of Elkhart as manager of the Wilts store at Ninth street and Rochester boulevard. He succeeds Richard Warren, who has left the Wilts fiirm.
The son of Mr. & Mrs. Frank Gearhart of Akron, Gearhart formerly owned a supermarket in Winamac. He sold it last August.
Gearhart began his career in the grocery business as an employee at the former C.F. Fleck and Son store in Akron in 1945.
After graduation from Akron high school, he worked for the Kroger company at Fort Wayne 7-1/2 years, completing a 22-week manager’s training course and relief managing, at several stores.
He attended the U.S. Extension Center in Kokomo and then purchased his supermarket in Winamac. He served overseas with the 354th Military Police Battalion during the Korean War.
Gearhart is a member of the South Bend Scottish Rite, Winamac Masonic lodge, Winamac Town council and the Northern Indiana Economic Development Association. He is a director of the Winamac Chamber of Commerce and a member and past trustee of the First Methodist church of Winamac.
As soon as housing is found, he will move to Rochester with his wife, the former Helen L. Miller of Akron, and children - Douglas Leo, Lana Renee and Dana Marie.
INDIANA METAL PROD.
Gen Mgr, Val Pemberton
The Sentinel, January 30, 1967
Val R. Pemberton has been appointed general manager of Indiana Metal Products of Rochester. This was announced today by J.L. Holland, vice-president, Camcar Screw & Mfg of Rockford, Ill., the parent company and a division of Textron Industries, Inc., Providence, R.I.
Pemberton most recently was associated with Camcar as assistant to the vice-president. Prior to that, he held management positions in Texas, Illinois and Wisconsin locations of the Wisconsin-based A.O. Smith Corporation. Pemberton was in the air force for a number of years in both management and operational capacities. He served as a jet fighter pilot and is a combat veteran of the Korean War.
An industrial management graduate of Ohio State university, Pemberton holds the degree of Master of Business Administration from the Univrsity of Wisconsin. Mrs. Pemberton is a native of Houston, Texas, where she attended the University of Houston.
Mr. & Mrs. Pemberton, their four sons and a daughter, will make their home in Rochester.
The general manager position at the Indiana Metal Products plant has been vacant since the death of Norbert Schroeder.
The Sentinel, March 6, 1967
The Fulton branch of the Fulton County Library now is in its fourth location, a new 30-by-60-feet building that vastly increases its service potential to Fulton and Liberty township residents.
The new quarters, one block east of Main street, are observing the same hours as in the former location. An “open house” will be conducted later.
The new buildng has 3,600 square feet of space, compared to the 450 feet in the former space.
The Fulton branch was established in one room over Gilmore’s grocery store in 1921.
A year or so later it moved into a building with the bank and the Post office - in the structure where the laundromat is now located. It was there when Mrs. Phylis Meyer became librarian on May 22, 1925.
In the late twenties, Mrs. Meyer said, the library moved to the building in which her father, L.W. Felder, opened a drug store in 1901. There it remained until last Feb. 10, when it moved to its new quarters.
Mrs. Meyer was born in Rochester but moved with the rest of the family to Fulton when her father started his drug store. In 1911 she married Charles Chance Meyer.
Mrs. Meyer graduated from Fulton high school when it was a three-year school and was in a building on the site which the Baptist church now occupies.
When Mrs. Meyer took over the library 42 years ago, she estimated the number of volumes at 2,000. It has doubled to about 4,000 volumes at the time the library moved to the present location. In the last three weeks, the number of volumes has about tripled and more are being added every week.
Mr. Meyer, a retired barber, and his wife donated the lot upon which the new library has been built. Mrs. Meyer is still libraria.
Mgr., Darrel Steel
The Sentinel, March 7, 1967
Management of Kroger’s supermarket, 913 Main street, was assumed Monday by Darrel Steele of Bremen, who replaces Larry Robison in the post.
Robison, manager here since the present location was opened in
1962, was appointed dairy merchandiser for the Kroger food chain.
Steele, a resident of Bremen, has been with Kroger 1-1/2 years and has served as assistant manager at various stores in the South Bend and Elkhart area. He is a native of Middlebury, Ind.
The new manager and his wife, Jeanette, are the parents of four sons and a daughter, the older boys being of school age. They plan to move to the city as soon as housing is obtained.
Robison will remain on duty at the local store the remainder of this week to acquaint Steele with operating procedures. Monday he will begin three months’ training at Cincinnati and Indanapolis for his new position.
As representative for Kroger dairies, Robisonj will deal with all the firm’s supermarkets in a specific division. He said he would not be assigned to an area until training is completed.
Roibison came to Rochester from Elkhart, where he had been associated with Kroger supermarket management. He and his wife, Martha, and son, Jim, will not move from the city until next fall. The Robisons’ daughter, Sharon, lives in Fort Wayne.
MANITOU ART GALLERY
The Sentinel, April 25, 1967
Robert Traeger announced today the upcoming opening of the Manitou Art Gallery at 607 East Ninth street.
The buildng will be open from 9 a.m.-5 p.m., Fridays and Saturdays and at night by appointment.
Individuals and groups are invited to inspect more than 35 original European oils that will be on sale.
Traeger will do his own stretching of canvas and framing. He will do Custom framing, also.
CRYSTAL DAIRY PROD
Closing Plant Here
The Sentinel, April 26, 1967
The Rochester plant of Crystal Dairy Products Inc., located on East Fourth street, will be closed within the next month.
The decision to cease operation here after eight years is due to the death Jan. 24 of Karl Kielsmeier, president of the Crystal firm that operates six food processing plants.
Forest Farms Products of Rochester, a division of Crystal Dairy,
will continue with no change in operaton. The business sells dairy supplies, animal feeds and fertilizers at both wholesale and retail. It is located on North Fulton avenue.
James Vrana, Crystal plant manager, said that a small force will be maintained at the East Fourth street building for the next few weeks to conclude warehousing and shipping of finished products and supplies.
The plant was purchased by Crystal in May, 1959, from Armour Creameries. It was operated first as a cheese, lactose and animal feed manufacturing plant and later changed to food packaging.
At peak production, the plant employed 75 men and women. There are 10 workers at present.
Other Crystal plants are located at Summitville, Lebanon and Hobart in Indiana, and at Momence and Watseka in Illinois. They will continue in operation.
The Rochester plant was built by Armour’s in 1922. The building will be available for sale soon.
RORO CAR WASH
Opening Memorial Day
The Sentinel, May 1, 1967
Construction began today at Fifth and Madison streets for the Robo Automatic Car Wash, wih completion scheduled by Memorial Day.
Owners of the new facility are Earl Wisely, RR 4, Rochester, and Larry Evans, 329 East Ninth street.
It will be the city’s first fully automatic car wash. The vehicle is washed throughly, including undercarriage, by robot action in two minutes. Waxing service for the car’s exterior is optional at additional cost and done in the same time period.
The driver and other occupants of the car can remain inside during the washing process.
The building will be 42 by 46 feet in size and of aluminum and glass construction.
Harrison Funrl Home
Pur Max Metzger
The Sentinel, May 26, 1967
The Harrison funeral home at Kewanna is now Harrison Funeral Homes, Inc., and Max Metzger and his wife, JoAnn are the managers and major stocholders. Paul Harrison, former owner and operator, is s minority stockholder and will be active only in case of emergencies.
Metzger, who has been associated with the funeral home for some time, is a graduate of Bunker Hill high school, International College, Fr. Wayne, and the Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science. Mrs. Metzger is a graduate of Flora high school and International college.
Metzger is a member of the Royal Center Masonic lodge and the Lions club. He served in the Air Force four years.
The Metzgers are members of the Royal Center Methodist church where Metzger is a lay leader. They have two sons, Michael, 8, and Kevin, 3.
The Harrison funeral home was started in 1905 by Thomas Harrison, father of Paul Harrison. After taking over from his father, Paul opened a funeral home in Lucerne in 1932 and in Royal Center in 1933.
The Sentinel, May 29, 1967
Participating in Tuesday’s dedication of a plaque in memory of Elizabeth Lindsey, first white woman known to be buried in Fulton county, were Mrs. Phil Parker (left), immediate past president of the Fulton County Federation of Clubs; Mrs. Ronald Utter, current president of the Federation of Clubs; Hugh Barnhart (far left), president of the Fulton County Historical Society, and Judge Wendell C. Tombaugh (far right), of the Fulton circuit court. Members of the American Legion color guart shown in the background are, left to right, Robert Hunter, Riley Shirley, Oscar Coplen and Henry White.
(The Centinel Photo)
“On behalf of all the people of Fulton county I accept this plaque for all time.” (my few words for the occasion. Wendell C. Tombaugh)
The Sentinel, May 29, 1967
Another new camping grounds in the Rochester area has been opened, this one by Bob and Dot Brubaker along the Tippecanoe river northwest of Rochester adjoining the Old Germany bridge.
Several hundred feet of river bank has been cleared. Spring water, comfort stations, firewood and refrigeration are avaiilable. Electricity has not been installed yet.
Boats for rental also are available, as are fishing and swiming facilities. Patrons are reminded to have life jackets, since the river current is swift.
Milk deliveries will be made to the camp on Tuesdays and Fridays.
The Brubakers, both reared in Rochester, returned to this community recently after an absence of 25 years.
The new camping grounds can be reached by taking either the Olsen road or the Indiana Metal road to County Road 375 West.
The Sentinel, June 5, 1967
Plows, tractors, discs and planters buzzed Wednesday at the farm of Carl Rentschler. Neighbors, church members and fellow Masons gathered at the farm to put his crops in for him.
There were 55 acres plowed and one-hundred and thirty-five planted.
Rentschler broke his leg in three places July 2, 1966 and is still in a cast. He is getting around but unable to acomplish his work.
Those gathering to help in the fields were: Voris Lowe, Harris Lease, Dan Sailors, Harold Fields, Cliff Pickens, Leroy Swartzel, Phil Isgrigg, Mark Williams, Leroy Moss, James Campbell, Joe Kistler, Harold Showley, Dick Moss, Walter Ball Sr., Rick Moss, Lawrence Siders, George Rentschler and Lawrence Rouch.
Ladies helping were: Mesdames Voris Lowe, Leroy Moss, Cliff Pickens, Phil Isgrigg, Robert McGrew, James Campbell, George Rentschler and Mrs. William G. Hartzler. Food was brought in by several people behind the scemes and was greatly apprciated.
Joe Kistler Home
The Sentinel, June 28, 1967
The decendants of Edward Francis Stubbs held their 35th reunion at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Joe Kistler, Lake of the Woods, near Bremen recently. The reunion was attended by 50 relatives and two guests, Richard Shoddy of Rochester and Larry Smith of LaPorte.
A basket dinner was served at noon following grace given by Bessie McVay.
The president, Avaughn Murray of Leiters Ford, called a short business meeting to order and Inez Murray gave the secretary’s report and financial statement.
The collection was taken by Timothy Scott Murray. The group as a family annually gives a donation of $5 to Moon cemetery and $5 to Schaeffer cemetery to help with maintenance.
Cards were sent to three men in the service: Gary L. Bradway, Fort Wayne; Ricky Bradway, Akron, currently hospitalized in Vietnam, and Thomas Lee Murray, Leiters Ford, who has been stationed in Hawaii for four months. Cards were sent also to relatives who lived a distance and could not attend.
Relatives attended from LaPorte, South Bend, Mishawaka, Culver, Delong, Monterey, Knox, and Rochester.
Mattie McIntire, daughter of the forefather, was the oldest person present and Eric Alan Overmyer, 11-1/2-month-old son of Mr. & Mrs. Carl Overmyer, was the youngest member of the family present.
Officers for the 1968 reunion will be Samuel Carter of South Bend, president; Mrs. Royal McNeil of Mishawaka, vice-president, and Inez Murray of Rochester, secretary-treasurer.
The next reunion will be held the last Sunday of June at the Potawatomi park in South Bend.
M.L. Spurlock Home
The Sentinel, June 29, 1967
After 17 years a reunion was held with a carry-in dinner by the children of M.L. Spurlock at his home, 120 East Fourth street.
Mrs. C.D. (Alice) Montgomery, California, and Mrs. Troy (Mable) Beattie of Florida, sisters of the late Mrs. M.L. Spurlock, were the honored guests.
Present were: Mr. & Mrs. Ira Spurlock, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. A.L. Spurlock, Monticello; Mr. & Mrs. Howard (Nina) McGown, Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Lowell (Gladys) Harman, Peru. Also present was a granddaughter of Mr. Spurlock, Pamela Lynn Gross of Peru and her parents, Mr. & Mrs. Bufford Gross and Mr. & Mrs. M.L. Spurlock.
The Sentinel, July 3, 1967
The six children, and their families, of the late Mr. & Mrs. Estel (Bessie Clemans) Kindig met at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Raymond (Bernice) Fenstermacher in Dyer.
Those present for the family dinner were Mr. & Mrs. Ed (Fay) Olson of Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. Daniel Delaney and family of Homewood, Ill., Mr. & Mrs. John Duda and family of Bensonville, Ill.: Mr. & Mrs. Norman Fenstermacher and family of Chatham, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. W.L. Hamm and family and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Fenstermacher and family, both of Hammond; Mrs. Carolyn Bennett and family of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Leon Kindig, Mr. & Mrs. Loren Sheetz and family, both of Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Clyde (Parentha) Johnson, Mr. & Mrs. Gail Johnson and family, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Kindig and family, all of Mentone; Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence Kindig, Mr.& Mrs. Lester Kindig, Mr. & Mrs. Everett Young and family; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Hile and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Kindig and family, Mr. & Mrs. Ronnie Kindig and family, all of Warsaw.
Those unable to attend were Mr. & Mrs. Alan Kindig and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dean Funk and family, Mr. & Mrs. John Funk and family, Mr. & Mrs. William Prater and family, Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Miller and family and Bill Kindig
MT. ZION SCHOOL REUN
Van Duyne Block
The Sentinel, July 6, 1967
The tenth annual reunion of the teachers and students of the former one-room Mt. Zion school was held at the Van Duyne Block & Gravel Company grounds with 45 persons attending.
Leroy Garner gave a prayer at the carry-in dinner. Henry Dixon was elected president to replace his sister, Mrs. Rex Swihart, who has been admitted to the Osteopathic hospital in South Bend.
It was noted that 11 persons have attended every reunion.
Joe and Bob Van Duyne were thanked for having the reunion at their place of business.
Mrs. Charles Whittenberger and her brother, H.E. Snyder, were the youngest former pupils present. Mrs. Emma Weaver was the oldest former pupil present.
Former teachers present were Fred Deardorff, Estil Ginn, Ray Shelton, Clifford Baggerly, Dean Mow and Fred Van Duyne.
Out of town persons attending were Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff, Richmond; Joe Dixson and John King, Groveland, Fla.; Estil Ginn, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Henry Dixson, Auburn; John Dixson, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. H.E. Snyder and son, Mark, Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Rex E. Wood, Osceola; Mrs. Carrie Jones., Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Donald Van Duyne, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Whittenberger, and Mrs. Madge Snyder, Akron.
Present from Rochester were: Mr. & Mrs. Leroy Garner; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Zeller Sr., Mrs. Albert Wood, Mrs. Pearl Moore and daughter, Clarice, Mr. & Mrs. Roscoe Conrad, Mr. & Mrs. Howard King, Mrs. Mabel Severn, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Dean Mow, Claude Butler, Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Baggerley, Robert Van Duyne, Mrs. Emma Weaver, and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.
SONOCO PRODS CO
The Sentinel, July 13, 1967
Work has been completed on a 50,000-square-foot addition to the Akron plant of Sonoco Products company.
The buildng, constructed by Thomas L. Hickey, Inc., South Bend, is on the east side of the plant and houses part of the production facilities, as well as some offices and a lunch room.
Total cost of the new space is $500,000. - - - -
Sonoco’s history in Akron is young, but the plant’s growth has been outstanding. In 1954, the plant’s first full year of operation, there were 41 employees and sales amounted to $675,000. Last year, 125 employees were paid over a million dollars in wages and salaries and total sales exceeded $3,265,900.
In Akron, Sonoco manufactures spiral tubes and cores used for winding sheet film, paper, foil and other similar materials. Many of the tubes are used for shipping containers and others for storing roll materials. In addition, Sonotube fibre forms for forming roiund
columns of concrete, Sonarduct fibre duct and Sonovoid fibre tubes, all used by the construction industry, are manufactured by Sonoco in Akron. The newest product for the construction trade is the Sonopan molded fibre pan.
Of the 125 persons on the payroll at the end of 1966, 75 employees, or 60 percent, live in Akron or the immediate area.
H.M. Byrd, Midwest manager, has been with the Akron plant since its beginning, except for a time as president of Sonoco’s subsidiary in Mexico. During his absence, A.W. DuBose was general manager of the Akron operation.
Byrd maintains office in Akron for his duties as Midwest manager. His office controls operations at the Akron plant and also those of Monroe Falls, O., Rockton, Ill., Louisiana, Mo., and Newport, Tenn.
J.L. Henderson is general manager of the Akron plant and assistant to Byrd. W.E. Gray is plant superintendent. The sales office for the midwestern territory also is in Akron, with W.R. Gray as regional sales manager.
Sonoco Products company was founded in Hartsville, S.C., in 1899 as a small paper novelties company with 12 employees in a rented warehouse. Sales the first year amounted to $2,139. In 1966, the company had sales of over $82,000,000, employed 4,070 in the United State and operated 20 branch plants from coast to coast.
The company also has subsidiaries in Mexico and Canada and affiliated interests in England and Australia.
Products of Sonoco’s plants include paper, folding boxes, paper cones and tubes for the textile industry, plastic cones, bobbins and tubes, pitch impregnated fibre sewage and drainage pipe, paper forms and tubes for the construction industry, acetic and formic acid, paper containers and cans, and a variety of tubes for numerous uses.
The Sentinel, July 13, 1967
The 38th annual reunion of the Rochester College Alumni association was held Sunday at the Mar-Lo restaurant in Kewanna, with 58 persons attending.
Ray Myers, former Rochester mayor, was reelected for another year as president and John Cessna was returned as vice-president. Mrs. Anna McVay was chosen secretary-treasurer to succeed Mrs. Dee
Berrier, Mrs. Reba Shore will be Mrs. McVay’s assistant.
Those in attendance voted to renew the reunion next year, on the second Sunday in July. Glen Smiley of Milford, Ill., made the motion.
Invocation was by the Rev. Clyde Walters. Earl Hicks of Kokomo led in singing “School Days” and “K.K.K. Katy.” A steak dinner was served.
Mrs. A.E. Stinson, unable to attend, was sent one of the floral arrangements used at the meeting. The Rev. Walters, Mrs. Goldie Polen and John Savage served as nominating committee for officers.
Those in attendance: Mrs. Edith Smith Merley, RR 1, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Clyde (Edith Moon) Walters, R.R. 1, Rochester; Mrs. Arthur B. Shore, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas, Knox; Mrs. Tessa Stayton, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. W.R. McClary, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Smith, R.R. 1, Macy; Mrs. F.R. Burns, North Manchester;
Mrs. Goldie Polen, Kewanna; Miss Gladus Wharton, Kewanna.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. M.P. Bair, Rocheter; Norabelle Bryant, Rochester; John and Mabel Savage, RR, Macy; E.C. Carvey, Converse; Emily von Ehrenstein, Mrs. Anna Raymond McVay, both Rochester; Florina Weimer, RR 2, Rochester; B.J. & Edna Hurst, Macy; Glen Smiley, Milford, Ill.; Otto & Sophie Babcock, Waterman, Ill.; Gladys Babcock Maple, Waterman, Ill;
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Adams, RR 3, Rochester; Ethel Snapp, Rochester; Belva Miller, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Myers, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. M.E. Hicks, Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna, Rochester.
Also, Hurd and Florence Hurst, Peru; Dean Mow, RR 5. Rochester; Estil Ginn, Rochester; Omer Richard, RR 4, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Dee (Eula Ewing) Berrier. RR 5, Rochester; Mrs. Minnie Alexander and Mrs. Pearl Hiland, both Rochester; Lulu Biggs Kroft, Logansport; Richard Kent Rice, Logansport; Dr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Roy Gassway, Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Carl Van Trump, Rochester; Mrs. Mae Falvey, San Pierre.
To Be Closed
The Sentinel, July 19, 1967
Notice that the postoffice at Disko would be closed Aug. 11 was received here today in letters written by U.S. Senators Vance Hartke and Birch Bayh following their receipt of official word from the U.S. Postoffice Department. The information was sent to Dale Welty,
Fulton County Democratic chairman.
The postoffice, which has been in existence for 80 years, is located in the general store owned by Postmaster Frank Peters. He gave notice some time ago that he desired to retire on April 14 due to ill health. According to the letter from Howard R. Barker, deputy assistant Postmaster General, no one has made application for the position.
Disko is located in the corner of Fulton, Wabash and Miami counties. At present it serves four families through general delivery while 26 others have lock boxes rented. Nearby homes are served by a rural route out of Silver Lake. The nearest postoffice is at Akron, only five miles away.
Barker stated in his letter to the senators that business in the Disko postoffice has declined gradually for years and expenses of operation is greater than the income.
The carrier of the rural roiute out of Silver Lake, he says, will deliver and collect mail, and stamps, deliver and accept registered, certified, insured COD mail and provide money order service.
The route will be extended to provide service at all Disko postoffice patrons on the road in front of their homes. They will use “Rural Route 1, Silver Lake, Indiana, 46982” as their new postal address.
Barker emphasized the department will provide a comparable service to patrons of Disko by rural delivery service and realize a substantial savings at the same time.
What is It’s Future?
The Sentinel, July 22, 1967
Residents of Grass Creek in Wayne township at the southwest corner of Fulton county met Thursday to discuss the future of their community, but came to no definite conclusions.
The residents are concerned that their town will fall by the wayside because the old school building will be sold Aug. 5 and the general store already has closed.
Farmers unable to use the local elevator have to take their grain elsewhere, resulting in a 40 percent drop in tax income from stored grain the last four years.
Residents hope the school building can be put to good use after its sale, such as for a warehouse or as a business building.
Pur Robert DeBruler
The Sentinel, July 22, 1967
Robert DeBruler today announced that he has purchased complete ownership of Lockridge Studio, 720 Main street, from Mrs. Georgianna Lockridge McCormck, Grand Rapids , Mich.
DeBruler, 1029 Jefferson street, has been part owner and general manager of the photography business. The late Charles Lockridge operated the firm from 1936 until his death in 1950.
DeBruler joined the studio in 1946 and has been part owner since 1952. The firm specializes in portrait, commercial and school photography and handles photographic equipment and supplies.
The new owner said he will operate the studio under his own name, at a later date.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 22, 1967
The Stookey family reunion was held at the City Park.
Those attending from out-of-town were: Mrs. Hilda Maroney, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Kesling and Pam, Mr. & Mrs. Larry Maroney and family, Bill Maroney and Mr. & Mrs. Al Sehlang, all of Logansport.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Don Stookey and family, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Bernard Butts and family, Valparaiso; Mr. & Mrs. Mick Musselman, Detroit, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Jim Brice and family, Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. Phil Brice and family, Chicago; and the Rev. & Mrs. John Davis and family, Roanoke.
Mr. & Mrs. Ted Davis and family, Rochester, also attended
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 24, 1967
Fourteen members of the George A. Burns family met at City Park for a family reunion. Mrs. Delbert Haupert gave a prayer at the carry-on dinner.
Present were Mr. & Mrs. Claude Burns, Roann; Mr. & Mrs. Delbert Haupert and daughters, Diane, Kathy and Shirley, North Manchester; Mrs. Louise Burns and children, Carol and Jimmy; Mrs. July Shepler and children, Kimmie and David, and Miss Goldie Burns, all of Akron.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, Aug. 15, 1967
Officers were elected at the first Henry Miller family reunion held recently at the city Park. The carry-in dinner was attended by 91 persons.
Elected as officers were: Mrs. Maurice Saygers, Akron, president; Robert Miller, South Bend, vice-president; Mrs. Don Reynolds, Rochester, secretary; and Mrs. James L. Miller, Rochester, treasurer.
The group voted to hold the 1968 reunion at the City Park on the 4th Sunday in July.
Those attending were: Mrs. Carl Miller, Mr. & Mrs. Harley Keel and family, Sycamore, Ill.; Delmont Miller, Genoa, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Charles D. Miller and family, Union, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Everett Bishop and family, Lewis R. Baldwin, and Mr. & Mrs. Jack Baldwin and family, all of Peru.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Art Bockover and daughter, Mrs. Gladys Bush, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Mapes and family, Mrs. Treva Vincent, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Chester Figert, Antwerp, O.; Mrs. Walter Drudge, Mrs. Irene Zolman and Mrs. Versa Miller Smith, all of Claypool.
Mr. & Mrs. Cranor Smith, Osgood; Mr. & Mrs. Jack Sherrill and family, Mexico; Mr. & Mrs. Joe Day, Dick Day and son, and Mrs. Maurice Saygers and family, all of Akron; and Mr. & Mrs. Robert Miller, South Bend.
Those attending from Rochester were: Mr. & Mrs. Jake Miller and son, Doc Miller and sons, Mr. & Mrs. Don Reynolds and family, Mr. & Mrs. Charles N. Miller and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. James L. Miller, and sons, Mrs. Bryan Riffle and family, Mr. & Mrs. Fred R. Miller, Kenneth Miller, Mrs. Dollie Miller, Miss Kim Shearer, Mrs. Flo Miller, Charles Raymer and Phon Hudkins.
Dean Neff, Inventor
The Sentinel, Aug. 17, 1967
Representatives of 16 northern Indiana cemeteries were in the city Wednesday to witness a day-long demonstration of a local man’s invention of a special gravedigging machine.
Response to the performance was enthusiastic and may
encourage the inventor, Dean Neff, to manufacture the machine for sale.
Neff, former farm implement dealer and postmaster here, spent the past two years designing and supervising the construction of a prototype of the machine.
It enables graves to be dug in a confined area, which often is necessary, and can dig an opening eight feet long in a space of 10 feet. Graves now either are dug by hand or with a back-hoe attached to tractor.
The machine is composed of a standard back-hoe on a special narrow three-wheeled base. The latter can be moved laterally to provide various widths of openngs for the hoe.
Neff, longtime trustee of the IOOF cemetery here, said that he will make a decision soon concerning the manufacture of the machine.
The Sentinel, Aug. 18, 1967
The 50th and last Hower reunion was held at Dykeman Park in Logansport on Sunday, Aug. 31, with 70 members attending.
The first Hower reunion was held at the home of Henry and Leah Hower in the Mount Olive community, south of Rochester, on Aug. 25, 1914, for the immediate family.
Henry Hower, who died in 1924 at the age of 87, was the son of John and Barbara Garman Hower. In 1844 he accompanied his parents, four brothers, and two sisters, overland by wagon from Stark county, O., to Huntington. There, they loaded their possessions on a barge and traveled the newly-opened Wabash and Erie Canal to Logansport.
Settling on a farm in the Bethel community, Mr. Hower was a blacksmith and farmer. They had two more children after moving to Indiana. Three sons, Levi, John and Absalom, served in the Civil War.
The second reunion welcomed all descendants of John and Barbara Hower. Families named Surface, Myers, and Pownall, were among them. Later, collateral relatives were added. It was an annual affair, held at various parks in the area each year except during World War 11.
The eldest member present at the 50th reunion was Mrs. Ida Downs, 90, Rochester. She is the only one of the eight children of Henry and Leah Hower living. Other older persons present were Mr.
& Mrs. Harry Wilson of Onward. Mrs. Flossie Bailey of Fulton and Mrs. Esie Southerton of Macy.
Mrs. Downs’ twin brother passed away in 1946. The youngest brother, Samuel, of Fletcher’s Lake community, lived until November, 1966. The other brothers and sisters were Mrs. Anna Williams of Macy, Mrs. Emma Enyart of Fulton, Charles Hower of Rochester, Josiah Hower of Fulton, and Mrs. Lydia Raymer Knight of Deedsville.
Mrs. Clark Bair served as president and Mrs. Downs as secretary and treasurer for the past several years.
Relatives attended from Naperville, Foosland, Bellflower, and Danville, IN.; Nadeau and Spaulding, Mich., and Wausau, Wis.
Letters were read from Mrs. Helen Hower Pawlick, of Mesa, Ariz.; and Mrs. Coda Hower Miller of Tucson, Ariz.
Cards were signed and mailed to those who were ill or unable to attend. They were Mrs. Pawlick and Mrs. Miller, Mr. Alpha Raymer of Missouri, and Mrs. Pearl Cover of Macy, who is a patient in a Peru nuring home.
After a fine dinner, much enjoyable reminiscing and visiting, the group was reluctant to disband without plans for another year.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, Aug. 24, 1967
The 15th reunion of the Brown and Knauff families was held recently at City Park with a carry-on dinner at noon.
Attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Luther Brown, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Wright, Mrs. Wilbur Brown and four daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Dick Summers and children, all from Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Leroy Rich and son David and daughter Jana from Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Chester Adkins, Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Myron Knauff and sons, John, Paul, Mark and daughter, Mary, Hebron; Mr. & Mrs. Buford Cull and baby, Wabash; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Miller and children, Macy.
Also, Mrs. Inez Johnson, Bradenton, Fla.; Robert Brown and Leo Pipes, San Antonio, Texas; Miss Bernita Adkins, Portage; Mr. & Mrs. Gerald Knauff and son Larry, Mr. & Mrs. Glen Knauff and daughter, Glenda, Miss Julia Hathaway, Mrs. Clara Knauff, Mr. & Mrs. Kenny Brandt and son Ken, all from Rochester.
The Sentinel, Aug. 26, 1967
Jack and Carol Kellenberger, Kewanna, have opened a grocery store at the Kewanna Sales and Service building on Ind. 17 at the south edge of Kewanna. They will carry a full line of groceries and are in the process of stocking their shelves. The store has already opened for the sale of milk, bread, pop etc.
The Sentinel, Sept. 14, 1967
Mrs. John (Hazel) Bookwalter has retired after working in the same (Macy) store for 45 years.
The store originally was Bookwalter’s Drug store, operated by her husband, John Bookwalter, until he broke his hip in 1951. The Bookwalters then sold the store and Mrs. Bookwalter said, “I guess that I just went along as one of the fixtures.”
The store was operated as a drug store until her husband died in 1961. When his services as a pharmacist were needed, he was wheeled to the store in his wheel chair. After his death, the name of the store was changed to “Kenny’s Sundries” - and Mrs. Bookwalter kept right on working - until Sept. 2.
Noah Rudd Home
The Sentinel, Sept. 19, 1967
The 50th Rudd reunion was held at the home of Noah Rudd in Salyersville, Ky., with 150 people in attendance.
Most of the relatives were direct descendants of Jim and Ellen Wilson Rudd who were among the early settlers of Magoffin county in Kentucky.
For entertainment, the group listened to individual singers and a quartet led by Murtel Rudd. The Rev. Orbin Rudd of Knox gave a sermon.
Noah Rudd was elected superintendent of the group with Tilden Penix, Orban Rudd and Bert Cosel as advisory members. Gladys Rudd Spangler was chosen as clerk.
Those attending the reunion from Michigan, Indiana, Ohio and Kentucky were the Rev. and Mrs. Orbin Rudd, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond
Taylor, Mr. & Mrs. Homer Spangler, Mr. & Mrs. Leroy Pickleslimer, Mr. & Mrs. Willard Allen, Mrs. Maude Flint, Mrs. Forrest Rudd, Mt. & Mrs. Jack Adams, Verna & Willie Patrick and Erma Jorden.
Also attending were Tilden Penix, Billy Picklesimer, James Rudd, Dorothy Hammers, Earl Rudd, W.M. Patrickm, Margaret Rudd, Jerry Miller, Terry Miller, Deborah Miller, Mr. & Mrs. Otis Conley, Mr. & Mrs. Leozo Rowe, Mr. & Mrs. Edward Rudd and Mr. & Mrs. Richard Lykins.
Also, Mrs. Lewis Minix, Garner Montgomery, Mrs. Jewell Hooper, Mr. & Mrs. Bert Daniels, Mr. & Mrs. Bert Castle, Mrs. Frances Hayes, Mrs. Gerald De Lucis, Mrs. Bill Cole, Mrs. & Mrs. Boyd Barnett, Mr. & Mrs. Roger Minix, Betty, Billy and Jerry Rudd, Barbara Daniels, Mr. & Mrs. Buford Patrick, Edith Hammons and Mr. & Mrs. Sterling Taylor.
Mr. & Mrs. Hurndon Rudd, Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Gail Rudd, Mr. & Mrs. Tilden Penix, Linda Picklesimer, Robert Collins, Mearl Rudd, Edith Arnett, Dixid Rudd, Sam Miller, E.J. Rudd, Millard, Jorden, Clarence Arnett, Cecil Rudd, Mrs. Maureen S. Rudd, Mrs. Water Stacy, Edna and Noah Rudd, Mary Alice Rudd, Mr. & Mrs. James D. Rudd, Mr. & Mrs. Noah Adrian Rudd and Evalice Miller.
ROCH. ICE & COAL
Russell Moore, Retires
The Sentinel, Oct. 26, 1967
Russell (Dinty) Moore today announced his retirement from operation of the Rochester Ice and Coal company, 411 Madison street.
Moore, who has been associated with the business 20 years and its owner the past eight years, said that health reasons prompts his decision to retire.
Previously, Moore for 25 years was in charge of ice manufacture and distribution for the former Northern Indiana Power company, located where Public Service Indiana now has its headquarters building.
He is a former City Councilman, having served two terms from 1948-55. Moore resides at 1102 Madison street.
Moore said the local business has been purchased by Bryce Burton of this city, who will continue its operation.
FOREST FARMS PRODS.
Pur Robert M. Smith
The Sentinel, Nov. 27, 1967
Forest Farms Products, 168 Fulton avenue, Indiana’s largest distributor of milk by-products for animal feed, has been purchased by Mr. & Mrs. Robert M. Smith, 411 West 11th street, from Crystal Dairy Products Inc., Watseka, Ill.
Smith said that plans for the business are indefinite now, but that the feed and buttermilk portions of the firm will be continued. The company also is the local outlet for DeLaval bulk milk equipment.
Bill Wisley, general manager of Forest Farms since November of 1962 when it was purchased by Crystal Dairies, said he will not remain with Forest Farms, but is undecided about his plans for the future. Wisley, who resides on Ewing avenue on the west side of Lake Manitou, came to Rochester in 1957 from Momence, Ill., when Crystal Dairies bought the Armour Creameries on East Fourth street.
Wisley managed the Crystal plant until 1962, when he became general manager of Forest Farms with its sale to Crystal and James Vrana of Rochester took over management of the cheese manufacturing plant. Wisley has been with the Crystal organization 15 years.
The Crystal plant here was closed the middle of this year following the death last Jan. 24 of Karl Keilsmeier, president of the corporation which operated six food processing plants at the time of his death.
All but one of those plants now have been sold or leased.
Forest Farms Products was founded here in 1946 by the late Robert P. Moore on the site now occupied by Heisler’s Pharmacy, Ninth and Wabash streets. It moved in 1949 to remodeled headquarters at Third and Main streets. The present location, remodled and occupied by Forest Farms in 1957, is the former Rochester Canning company plant.
Forest Farms was sold to Crystal Dairies by Mrs. Arabelle V. Moore, the widow of the founder. Mrs. Moore still resides at the Moore residence on Barrett road on the north shore of Lake Manitou.
FOREST FARMS PRODS.
The Sentinel, Nov. 30, 1967
Robert M. Smith, 411 West 11th street, announced today he and Norman Cumberland of Rochester have formed a partnership for ownership of Forest Farms Products, 168 Fulton avenue.
The two men will operate the business of selling buttermilk by-products for animal feed and the sale of other farm supplies. Smith and his wife remain as owners of the real estate occupied by the business.
Smith said Forest Farms will discontinue some lines of farm supplies now being sold and will add others. He said an auction probably will be conducted to dispose of some supplies on hand.
The Armour Meat Packing company of Chicago has leased the back portion of the Forest Farms building for sale of fertilizer, Smith said. Other parts of the building also may be leased in the future, he said. - - - - -
Forest Pike, Vice Pres
The Sentinel, Dec. 5, 1967
Forest H. Pike, 1807 Oakwood drive, has been named executive vice-president of Fre-Bar Inc., the nation’s largest manufacturer of automobile radiator sealer products.
His appointment was announced last week at Holly, Mich., home office and plant of Fre-Bar Inc.
Pike was advanced to the vice-presidency from the position of national sales manager, which he had held since last March. Prior to that he was district manager in Indiana and Illinois for 10 years. Pike began his association with the firm 12 years ago with Bar’s Prodicts of Michigan.
He has been residing in Holly since assuming the sales post last year. As executive vice-president, Pike is in charge of all manufacturing processes at the home plant in Holly, which is 14 miles south of Flint.
Pike’s wife, Mary, and family will move to Holly in June. They have four children, Mrs. Robert (Sally) Bolen; David, 17, Richard, 17, and Mary, 5.
A graduate of Rochester high school, Pike is a veteran of 3-1/2 years duty in World War 11 with the air force, as sergeant. His
mother, Mrs. Fairy Pike, and sister, Mrs. Gene Seitner, reside in this city.
Fre-Bar Inc., is in its 20th year and now is included as original equipment in three of every four cars manufactured in the nation.
John D. Taylor
The Sentinel, January 18, 1968
John D. Taylor, son of Hubert and the late Mrs. Taylor of Rochester, has been promoted to administrative assistant to the vice president, Midwestern Territory, of Sears Roebuck & Company, it was announced in Chicago.
Taylor has been group manager of Sears Columbus, O., operation. He went to Columbus in February, 1964, as manager of Sears Northland store.
He now moves to the company’s largest territory, covering an 11-state area and containing 260 retail stores, 240 catalog sales offices and two catalog order plants. The territory headquarters is in Skokie, a Chicago suburb.
Taylor, a veteran of 20 years with Sears, joined the firm as a management trainee in 1947 after graduating from Indiana university. in 1950 he was named assistant manager of the Sears store in LaPorte. He later held similar posts in Bay City, Mich.,, and Lexington, Ky.
From 1960 to 1962 he was manager of the Springfield, O., store and until going to Columbus was assigned to Sears’ national headquarters in Chicago in the general merchandise office.
Taylor’s family will join him in moving to the Chicago area in the near future.
BOWER HOMES INC.
Doyle’s Home Mart
The Sentinel, February 2, 1968
The Bower Homes of Rochester, Inc. Mfg. Plant on the east side of U.S. 31 north of Rochester will have a wholesale-retail store that owner Greg Doyle terms a new concept in the building industry.
Named Doyle’s Home Mart, the store at the north end of the plant will sell a multitude of building and decorating supplies and will offer professional services to the builder, whether he be a do-it-yourself or a commercial contractor. - - - - -
By Alice Sprecher
The Sentinel, February 6, 1968
In 1882 the first railroad, the Erie, laid tracks east and west through the Delong area. In 1883 the Pennsylvania railroad laid tracks north and south crossing the Erie line. A tower was built and a one room depot and later a pen and loading dock for stock. In the early days of the railroad there were gates on the crossing on Main Street. The gate keeper was an Irishman named Patrick Daley. The ladies of Delong used to ride the hand cars on the railroad to Monterey to attend dances, courtesy of the section crew no doubt.
A village grew around the intersection of these railroads and was named Marshland. Benjamin F. Good was appointed the first postmaster on September 26, 1884. It was found that there was another town called Marshland so the name was changed to Delong on February 20, 1894, being named after Mr. Delong who was the first railroad agent.
The first store was owned by Frank Good. It was located southwest of the railroad intersection making it across the tracks from the depot on Main Street. The first postoffice was in this store.
Prior to 1896 children attended a one room log school on the Ellis property, one-half mile southeast of Delong. Then a two room brick school was built in the town. This school was replaced in 1916 by a two-story brick school which was abandoned in 1945 when the new Leiters Ford School consolidated and took over the pupils. This 1916 building still stands unoccpied since that time.
The first houses in the village were one built by Isaac Gray and one built as a boarding house by a Mr. Munger on Indiana Street and one built by the Kelsey family.
A German Reform Church was built in 1887 and abandoned in 1926 and later torn down. The Methodist Church was built in 1893 and is still in use.
Later Frank Good built a bigger building to enlarge the store on Indiana Street. This store was owned by various people subsequently including a Mr. Euwart and a Mr. Young. Another store in the east part of town was also a meat market and was owned by Bill Richy who sold it to Lee Robinson and Tuck Hay. A hotel and saloon were on Main Street, the saloon being on the first floor and the hotel rooms upstairs. This building, long abandoned, was torn down in the 1940s.
The land where Delong stands was originally owned by the John
Mahler family who bought it from the government as homestead land and later sold a portion to the Kelsey family. The Mahlers were early pioneers of around 1836 or 1837.
Kings Lake is called Shadle Lake in the 1907 Standard Atlas of Fulton County.
John and Thomas King came to this area in 1884 having come from Ireland and living for a time in New York and Ohio prior to this. Thomas King purchased land south of Kings Lake.
Land southeast of Delong was purchased by John Ellis Jr., who came here from Ohio.
An early atlas shows a sulphur spring just southeast of Delong near the river but we can’t find anyone who remembers it.
At the turn of the century Delong was a thriving village and if the items in the Rochester paper of those times are to be believed, an active social life was not lacking in the community. Delong has regressed and now in this year oif 1987 has but one small store which is also the postoffice. It stands on the site of the original store and postoffice. There is a conservation club building, one church and twenty-five occupied houses. Sometime in the 1940s the larger two room depot which had replaced the first small one was torn down. In the 1950s one Erie track was torn up and the tower and freight house torn down.
In early times in time of drought when the wells went dry, women would take their clothes down to Kings Lake, build a fire under a big iron kettle, and wash their clothes there where they had plenty of water.
Credit for data on Delong is given to:
Mrs. A.N. McIntire Mr. Omer Reichard
Mr. Simon Kaley Mr. Guy Shadle
Mr. Paul Hoover Mrs. Chas. Emmons
Mrs. Edward Shadle Mrs. Chas. Richardson
IMCO POULTRY INC.
The Sentinel, March 2, 1968
Imco Poultry Inc., Friday closed its chicken hatchery business at 311 East Ninth street. The firm formerly was known as Neuhauser Hatchery.
Ed Loebig, manager here for the past 14 years no longer will be associated with Imco, Loebig said, however, that he plans to continue
his residence in Rochester and will announce his plans at a later date.
Imco, with headquarters in Napoleon, O., bought the Neuhauser chain of chicken hatcheries last March. William Shine of Rochester has been employed by the firm as district manager to handle the sales and service in this area.
The Neuhauser company opened its hatchery in Rochester in 1950. Loebig said that the building is to be sold.
LEASE OFFICE MACHS
Pur Tombaugh Building
The Sentinel, March 4, 1968
Howard and James Lease announced today that they have purchased the building in Manitou Heights shopping center that formerly was occupied by the law offices of Wendell Tombaugh, now circuit court judge.
The Leases operate the H.J. Lease Office Machines business in associaion with their father, Herrold. The elder Lease founded the firm in 1945; its offices now are located at the Herrold Lease home, three miles south of the city on Ind. 25.
The office machines business will be moved to its new location late this spring, following remodeling of the premises.
Buys Quality Fasteners Inc.
The Sentinel, March 4, 1968
Harold J. Plumley, president of Talma Fasteners corporation, announced today the acquisition of Quality Fasteners, Inc., Kalamazoo, Mich. Plumley stated Quality Fasteners will be moved to Rochester during the next three months.
Don Werme, general manager of Quality Fasteners, is continuing as general manager under the new ownership. Under Werme, Quality Fasteners has gained a reputation for supplying quality fasteners to the automotive industry.
Colman Howton, plant manager for Talma Fastener corporation, will be in charge of all production for both companies. According to Howton, this move will result in additional employmet for skilled and unskilled help in the Rochester area.
The board of directors of Quality Fasteners, Inc., made up of Harold J. Plumley, Dean Plumley, Chalmer R. Plumley, Don Werne and Colman Howton. The officers are Harold J. Plumley, president,
Dean Plumley, vice-president and secretary, and Gordon O. Swegman, treasurer.
Talma Fasteners opened its plant in the former Rochester Machinery and Supply company building at Talma in August of 1964 and manufactures metal fasteners for the automotive and home appliance industries.
Last year the company constructed a 6,000-square feet of plant area. Facilities include cold heading and thread rolling machinery, lathes, drill presses, deburring, tumbling and metal cleaning machines.
The plant employs 26 persons at present.
SONOCO PROD CO
H.M. Byrd, Moves Up
The Sentinel, March 4, 1968
Herbert M. Byrd of Akron, northwest manager of Sonoco Produts company, will return to the main plant in Hartsville, S.C., this spring to assume the responsibilities of assistant to the vice-president - production. - - - -
Byrd, a native of Darlington county, S.C., joined the Carolina Fibre company in 1935, following graduation from Clemson university. When the company merged with Sonoco in 1941, he moved to Sonoco where he served in purchasing, engineering and production. He was President of Sonoco de Mexico five years and has been midwest manager since 1962.- - - - -
Founded in 1899, Sonoco Products Company is a major manufacturer of paper, paper products and plastic items. With main plant and general offices in Hartsville, the company operates 22 branch plants from coast to coast and has subsidiary companies in Canada and Mexico.
Pur Bernard Eller
The Sentinel, March 8, 1968
Mr. & Mrs. Bernard Eller of Grant county have purchased the Culligan Soft Water Service, 129 East Fifth street, from Mr. & Mrs. Phil Veit and have assumed operation of the business.
The Ellers, who resided near Converse, plan no changes in the firm’s policies and have retained Jacob Overlander and Ted McCloughan as service personnel. The Veits, who announced no immediate plans, opened the business nine years ago and in 1964 built
a new headquarters building at Fifth and Madison streets.
Mr. & Mrs. Ellers, who had been engaged in farming, are residing in the building’s second floor living quarters. They are the parents of five children, Nikki, a freshman, and Toni, a sophomore, both at Ball State university, Ted, eighth grade, Kay, sixth grade, and Sue, fifth grade.
Russell C. King, Mgr.
The Sentinel, March 19, 1968
Russell C. King, Jr., district sales manager at Sonoco Products company’s Newport, Tenn. Plant has been appointed plant manager of the Akron plant.
At the same time, R.B. White, vice president - production, announced that W. Ed Gray, now superintendent of Sonoco’s Akron plant, is being promoted to assistant plant mnager. - - - -
King joined Sonoco in 1956 following graduation from Wofford college. He served in the company’s sales division as chief order clerk, assistant divisional sales manager, administrative assistant to vice president - sales, and in August, 1965 was named district sales manager at Newport.
A native of Darlington, S.C., King is active in community affairs and is a former captain in the U.S. Army. - - - - -
Opens April 17
The Sentinel, April 3, 1968
Opening of the new Moore’s store at 709 Main street has been set for Wednesday, April 17, District Manager Bernard Bickle said today.
Remodeling work is completed at the location, former site of Wile’s department store, and stocking of the store with merchandise is about to begin. A new front has been installed, featuring entrance doors flush with the sidewalk instead of off foyers as before. There also will be a rear entrance.
Bickle said that Robert Atkinson will move to the city to become manager of the store. Atkinson has been manager of Moore’s store at LaPorte the past year and prior to that was manager at Zenia, O.
The Moore’s outlet here will offer auto parts and accessories, home appliances, housewares, television, paints, tools, furniture sporting
goods, bicycles, lawn and garden spplies and toys.
Moore’s has 125 stores in four states. The local outlet will have 5,300 square feet of sales space.
HIRSCH & CO. STORE
Mgr, Mike Fitzgerald
The Sentinel, April 30, 1968
Mike Fitzgerald has assumed the duties of manager at the P.N. Hirsch & Co store, 808 Main street. He succeeds Robert Heuer, who resigned after three years here to enter management training with Sears Roebuck & Co.
Fitzgerald takes over the local store after being manager of Hirsch’s store at Nappanee. A native of Connersville, he also had served Hirsch stores in Bluffton nd Watseka, Ill.
The new manager is married and the father of two children. The family will move to Rochester as soon as suitable housing can be located.
John Heiliger, Mgr.
The Sentinel, June 10, 1968
John Heiliger Monday will assume the management of Kroger supermarket here to succeed George Bachman, who has been named to manage the company’s New Haven store.
Heiliger comes to the city from LaGrange, where he has been manager of Kroger’s for two years. A native of Elkhart he has been with the firm 12 years and also has worked in sll the company’s stores in the South Bend region.
He and his wife and four sons, ages three to six, will move to the city as soon as housing is obtained.
Bert Gillespie Res
The Sentinel, June 14, 1968
Forty-seven decendants of the Jesse McKee family held their annual reunion Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Bert Gillespie of Kewanna. A favorite dish dinner was served at noon with Robert McKee giving the before-the-meal prayer. Louis McKee of Royal Center was elected president and Karen McKee, secretary.
FIRST NATL BANK
Albert M. Price, Pres.
The Sentinel, June 17, 1968
Albert M. Price today took up the duties of president of the First National Bank of Rochester, following his election to that office by the board of directors Friday night.
Price, who had been the bank’s vice-president, advances to the presidency following the retirement of Charles M. Sheridan.
Ernest Bonine was chosen to replace Price as vice president and also will retain the duties of cashier.
Sheridan’s retirement starts officially June 30, but he began two week’s vacation today and thus closed out over 41 years with the bank in advance of the announced date.
Price joined the First National on Jan. 1, 1967, from the Akron Exchange State Bank, where he had been cashier. Bonine, the new vice-president, has been with the First National 31 years and has served as cashier the past seven years. - - - --
Price, the new bank president, spent 20 years with the Akron bank, serving as trust officer, board secretary and cashier. He retains his membership on the bank’s board of directors.
A native of Kokomo, he graduated from Indiana university in 1942 with a degree in business and also has attended the graduate school of banking at the University of Wisconsin. He was a lieutenant in the Navy Seabees during World War 11.
Price and his wife, Mary, are the parents of one daughter, Patricia. The family resides at 1808 Oakwood drive.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, June 27, 1968
The 46th annual Harmon reunion was held in the City Park with 62 persons in attendance. The group meets yearly on the fourth Sunday in June.
Mrs. Ellis Kleim gave the before-the-meal prayer. The afternoon was spent renewing acquaintances and visiting.
Older persons present were: Mrs. Maude Grogg, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Harmon, Roann, Mrs. Earl Harmon, Roann, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Harmon, Elkhart, and Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Harmon, Claypool.
MT. ZION SCHOOL REUN
Van Duyne Block
The Sentinel, July 9, 1968
The 11th annual reunion of the former pupils and teachers of the old one room school at Mt. Zion was held July 4 at the Van Duyne Block and Gravel ground with 47 people in attendance.
A basket dinner was held at the noon hour with Leroy Garner giving the blessing. The same officers were reelected: Henry Dixon, president; and Mildred Van Duyne, secretary. A letter was read from Fred Deardorff, a former teacher, who was unable to attend.
It was voted to hold a reunion next year at the same place and at the same time. Joe and Robert Van Duyne were given a vote of thanks for the use of their place of business for the reunion.
Former teachers present were: Estil Ginn, Ray Shelton, and Fred Van Duyne. Mrs. Leston Goodyear was the youngest former pupil present and Mrs. Della Pontius was the oldest.
Out of town guests present were: Mr. & Mrs. James Calloway, Davidson, Saskatchewan, Canada; Joe Dixon, Groveland, Fla.; Mr. & Mrs. Henry Dixon, Auburn; Mr. & Mrs. Harold King, Fort Wayne; Mr.& Mrs. Leston Goodyear, Churubusco; Mr. & Mrs. Chaney Nye, South Bend; and John Dixon, Elkhart.
Local people present were Mrs. Pearl Moore and daughters, Clarice and Mrs Maxine Zerbe, Mr. & Mrs. Howard King, Carol and Janet King, Mr. & Mrs. Leroy Garner, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Zellers Sr., Mrs. Albert Wood, Mrs. Herman Wagoner, Mrs. Orville Gilliland, Claude Butler, Estil Ginn, Ralph Shelton, Mrs. Harley Fultz, Mrs. Ed Fishback, Mrs. Arthur Weaver Sr., Mrs. Edgar Runkle, Mrs. James Charters, Mrs. Art Fansler, Mrs. Lloyd Pickens, Mrs. Della Pontius, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mrs. Emma Weaver, Mrs. Deloise Severns and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.
FIRST NATNL BANK
James W. McAllister, V.Pres.
The Sentinel, July 11, 1968
The appointment of James W. McAllister as assistant vice president and loan officer of the First National Bank was announced today by Albert Price, president. McAllister will begin his duties here Aug. 1.
McAllister fills an administrative vacancy at the bank created by
the recent promotion of Price to president and Ernest Bonine to vice president following the retirement of Charles Sheridan from the presidency.
McAllister has been associated with the State Exchange Bank at Culver for the past 14 years as assistant cashier.
He is a graduate of Texas Technological college in Lubbock with a BS degree in business administration, has completed some work toward a master’s degree and also has studied with the American Institute of Banking.
He was a fighter pilot with the Army Air Corps in World War 11, attaining the rank of major. McAllister currently holds a commercial pilot’s license, is a member of the Mentone Flying club and a past member of the Marshall County Aviation Board.
The new asistant vice president is on the Marshall County Red Cross board of directors, is a precinct committeeman for the Marshall County Democratic party, member of Culver Chamber of Commerce, second vice president of Culver Lions club and a member of Masonic lodge, Scottish Rite, Shrine and Eastern Star. He attends the First Baptist church here.
He is married to the former Harriet Ellen Bonine of this city.
The Sentinel, July 11, 1968
A reunion was held recently on the Tippecanoe river at the Haimbaugh farm north of Rochester when the last of the 53 members of the John and Emma Haimbaugh family returned to their homes, Omer Haimbaugh, Roland Haimbaugh, Edith Smiley, Ethel Parker, and Devon Haimbaugh and members of their families were present.
Other relatives attending were Mr. & Mrs. Floyd Neff and Franklin and Elizabeth and their families, Mr. & Mrs. P.G. Hazlett, Mr. & Mrs. Lawson Brunton, and Mr. & Mrs. Walter Safford. A picnic dinner and family reunion was held and fireworks were enjoyed in the evening.
Guests were present from Kansas City, Mo.; Toledo and Columbus, O.; Columbia City, Fort Wayne, Marion, Indianapolis, Lafayette, Morocco, Munster, Rochester, and Akron and six families from Illinois.
Diana Heine of Toledo and Spl4 Lowell Safford, stationed in Vietnam, were unable to attend.
The Sentinel, July 17, 1968
Rochester college closed 56 years ago, but the friendships developed during the years it was open brought 46 school mates together again Sunday.
The 39th reunion was held at Lakeside Inn where dinner was served at tables decorated with flowers. “America” was sung and the Rev. Clyde Walters led in prayer.
Because of the illnesses of the president and vice president, Ray Myers and John Cessna, respectively, Earl Hicks had charge of the meeting. He was assisted by Reba Shore and Anna McVay. Following Mr. Hicks’ greeting and remarks, the minutes were read by Mrs. Shore.
Eula Berrier read the names of members who have passed away within the past year as follows: Roy Proctor, V.L. Barker, Mack Haimbaugh, Mrs. Roy Koffel, Mr. Kroft, John Savage, Edna Hurst and Elmer Guise.
A silver cup was given to Dow Haimbaugh for being the oldest member present. Mr. & Mrs. Otto Babcock and Gladys Maple also received cups for attending from the greatest distances.
It was decided to meet again the second Sunday in July, 1969. Officers for next year were elected as: The Rev. Walters, president; Charles Lucas, vice president; Estil Ginn, secretary; and Ethel Snapp, treasurer.
A bouquet of flowers was taken to John Cessna, a patient at the hospital.
Mr. & Mrs. Earl Hicks entertained the group with pictures of the 1902 World’s Fair at Seattle, Wash.,, and other scenic views of the United States.
The remainder of the time was spent renewing acquaintenances and reminiscing.
Attending from Rochester were: The Rev. & Mrs. Clyde Walters, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay, Miss Edna Sheets, Estil Ginn, Mr. & Mrs. M.P. Bair, Mr. & Mrs. Dee Berrier, Miss Belva Miller, Mrs. Fred Alexander, Ethel Snapp, Pearl Hiland, Florence Weimer, Emily Von Ehrenstein, Mr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Hazel Cessna and Mrs. Reba Shore.
Those attending from out-of-town were: Mr. & Mrs. Earl Hicks, Kokomo; Don H. McLean, Edith Bookwalter Wolfe and Mr. &
Mrs. W.R. McClary, all of South Bend; Tessa Cooper Stayton, Mishawaka; Golden Polen, Kewanna; Edna Burns, North Manchester; Errett & Bertha Carvey, Converse; Mrs. Lester Carvey and Blaine Hurst, Macy.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff, Richmond; Otto & Sophie Babcock and Mrs. Gladys Babcock Maple, Waterman, Ill.; Mrs. Edith Glen Merley, Akron; Bess & Roy Gasaway, Peru; Lulu O. Kroft and Richard Rice, Logansport; Shar Johannsen, Great Lakes, Ill.; and Charles E. & Harriet Lucas, Knox, Ill. - - - - -
Pur Mark A. Scheiber
The Sentinel, August 1, 1968
Mark A. Scheiber today announced that he has purchased ownership of Brown and Rowe Shoe Store, 725 Main street, from Robert Rowe of Huntington. The transaction becomes effective Friday.
Scheiber has been manager of the local store since October, 1966, when Rowe bought the business following the death of its longtime owner, Orbra Taylor.
The firm will operate under the name of Scheiber Shoe Store beginning in October, when a grand opening sale is planned, said Scheiber.
A native of Huntington, Scheiber has been in the shoe business 12 years, being associated with the Brown and Rowe stores in that city. He managed the R & S Fashion Shoe Store in Huntington before moving to Rochester.
Scheiber is a veteran of four years in the Navy, having served aboard two aircraft carriers as a yoeman third class. He was on the USS Lake Champlain when it recovered Astronat Alan Shepard after the first U.S. Space flight in 1961. Three years later, he was on the USS Constellation off Vietnam at the time of the Tonkin Gulf incident, when North Vietnamese torpedo boats attacked U.S. Destroyers.
Mrs. Ada Stansell, who has been associated with the local store for 24 years, will continue with the new owner.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 19, 1968
The annual Taylor family reunion was held recently at City Park with 36 members present. A picnic dinner was held at noon and the afternoon was spent socially.
A short business meeting was held. Mrs. Everett Taylor presided over the meeting. The minutes of last year’s meeting was given by Mrs. Ralph Conaway of Michigan City.
A committee for next year’s reunion was named as follows: Mr. & Mrs. Howard Tayler, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Pickens and Mrs. Everett Tayler.
Present were: Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Conaway, Mrs. Mary Ellen Surface and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Ed Pawlick, Michigan City; Mrs. W.C. Harter and Mr. & Mrs. Joe Harter and family of Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Ed Niles and family, Muncie; Mr. & Mrs. Howard Gilliland and family, Kewanna.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Taylor, Mrs. Everett Taylor, Mrs. Orville Gilliland, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Pickens and family, Rochester. Guests were Mrs. Hazel Conaway, Rochester; and Mrs. Ruth Martz, Akron; Mrs. Joe Conaway and daughters were afternoon callers.
The Sentinel, August 23, 1968
Fifty-five persons met for the Mahler reunion Sunday at the Plymouth Park.
Out-of-town guests attending the carry-in meal ad social gathering were: Mr. & Mrs. Richard Hudkins and son, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Mahler and family, Mr. & Mrs. Oscar Mahler, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Mahler, Mrs. LeRoy E. Mahler and Mrs. Fred Long and daughter, all of Monterey; Mr. & Mrs. John Mahler and son, Argos; and Mrs.. Larry Mahler and family, Culver.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Keith Shirley and family, Bremen; Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Mahler and family, Ora; Mrs. Alma Kelly and daughter and Mrs. Hazel Blesbrook, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Milo Hahler and son, Mr. & Mrs. Roy McCandlish and daughter and two guests, and Mrs. Robert Ambler and son, Mishawaka, Mr. & Mrs. Dan Kelly and son, Edwardsburg, Mich.; and Mr. & Mrs. Billy Webber and daughter, Buchanan, Mich.
SEARS CATALOG STORE
Mgr, Si Arnold
The Sentinel, Sept. 16, 1968
Si Arnold, manager of the Sears Roebuck and Company store in Paris, Ill., is due in Rochester Tuesday to take over management of the Sears catalog store here.
He will succeed Robert Delp, who has been promoted to management of the Sears store in Big Rapids, Mich., a community of about 8,500. Delp is scheduled to assume his new post next Monday.
Arnold’s wife and their four children will move to Rochester when suitable housing is obtained.
Delp has been Rochester Sears manager since April of 1966 is the third man to head the local store since it was opened at 528 Main street in October of 1963 under management of Robert Pike. Pike moved to the Huntington Sears store in November of 1965 and was succeeded here by Lynn Pequinot.
Delp’s wife, Georgia Ann, and their children, John, 18, and David, 13, will move to Big Rapids when housing is found. Big Rapids is the home of Ferris State college, a pharmacy school.
CRYSTAL DAIRY PROD
Bldg Pur, Roch Dvlpmnt Co
The Sentinel, Sept. 21, 1968
A group of Rochester men have purchased the Crystal Dairy Products building on East Fourth street with plans to lease it to an industry, use it for storage purposes or a combination of both.
The group, known as the Rochester Development Company, is composed of Wayne Smith, Casey Jones Sr., Lawrence Brown, Don Stephenson and Don Cook. The purchase of the building is the first in many efforts to be put forth by this company for the interests of Rochester, Cook said.
Crystal Dairy operated here eight years. The plant was purchased by Crystal Dairy in May, 1959 from Armour Creameries, which began the manufacture of chedder cheese here in 1922. Crystal first operated as a cheese, lactose and animal feed manufacturing plant and later changed to food packaging. At peak production the plant employed 75 men and women.
The decision to cease operations here was due to the death of the president of the firm. The building was vacated in May of 1967.
IND METAL PRODS
Maurice Brash, promoted
The Sentinel, Oct. 16, 1968
Maurice Brash, 1305 Hill street, has been promoted to manager of automotive sales for Indiana Metal Products company, General Manager Val Pemberton announced today.
In his new position, Brash will be responsible for all the company’s sales to this major market for metal fasteners. He will be in charge of Indiana Metal’s Detroit sales office at Birmingham, Mich., a Detroit suburb.
The sales force that Brash will supervise services Chrysler, Fisher Body, Ford, Chevrolet, Oldsmobile, Cadillac, Pontiac, Buick and several truck manufacturers as well as automotive customers in the Detroit area.
An Indiana Metal employee since 1964, Brash previously had worked for Sealed Power corporation and General Telephone company. A fighter pilot in World War 11, he was shot down in action and spent many months in enemy territory before being captured by the Germans and imprisoned in Yugoslavia.
He and his wife, Fran, are the parents of five sons and one daughter, and have been active in community affairs during their residence here. The family will reside in North Bloomfield Hills, suburb north of Detroit.
How It Was Named
The Sentinel, Nov. 11, 1968
HOW KEWANNA GOT ITS NAME
By Bromley Smith
When George Winter, an English artist who had moved to Logansport, wrote in his Journals on July 17, 1837 that he was going to a council at Lake Kee-waw-nay, he furnished the proof that a lake by that name was known to whites and Indians. The fact that all concerned could meet at a designated place is good evidence that the lake had been named at some early date. The name meant “Prairie Chicken,” according to the translation made by J.P. Dunn in his True Tales, a name given probably because the lake resembled a bird of that species, or because many prairie chickens were found in the neighborhood. The name was a favorite with the Indians, for there is a Kewanee in Illinois, a Kewaunne in Wisconsin, and Kewaune in
Winter added, that the site of the council was at a village of the same name on the shore of the lake. He is careful to state that it wasn’t a large settlement, but that its dwellings were scattered among the trees. Among these was the octagonal bark wigwam of Chief Ogamaus and the well-built log cabin of Chieftess Massaw. On the floor of her cabin many slept, having come to the pow wow without tents teepees. Of the permanent residents in the village there must have been a considerable number, enough to warrant a graveyard on a ridge nearby, which has yielded numeous bones, beads and other relics. We are sure about the graveyard, for Winter described an Indian burial ceremony which he attended.
To this settlement on the shore of Lake Kee-waw-nay came the commissioners of the U.S. Government and the representatives of the Potawatomie Indians. Among the latter was a minor chief from the Eel River region by the name of Kee-waw-nay. Although he took no part in the transactions at the lake he was present a month later, August 19th, at Crooked Creek near Logansport, at which point the Indians reported the decisions of their tribes and gave their final assent to move from Indiana within a year. At this council Winter became so well acquainted with Chief Kee-waw-nay that he persuaded the chief to sit for his picture. The result shows the head and shoulders of an Indian, wearing his hair in bangs, revealing a long nose and high cheek bones. He was dressed, not as one might imagine in leather, but in a white collar with a black stock, in a blue jacket and a fluffy white shirt. Inasmuch as it hardly seems probable that the chief wore such fancy clothing out in the woods at Crooked Creek one may hazard that Winter drew the countenance at the council and painted the store-outfit on him at the studio.
Laying aside his brush Winter gave a verbal picture of Kee-waw-nay, in fact two pictures. In one the chief is “an old man of consideration among his people. . . . The citizens of Logansport . . . respected him for his many qualities of an attractive character.” In the other he is described as a drunken savage, drowning his sorrows in firewater.
“Kee-waw-nay came into camp this evenng from Logansport completely ‘corned’ and scarcely able to sit on horseback . . . He was so drunk that he seemed to be incapable of lighting his clay pipe, about two inches long. He made signs for me to do it. I made two or three efforts to scrape some of the coals into the bowl of the pipe, but the
fire was so powerful that I burnt my hand in the unsuccessful attempt. Taking the pipe from me with a grunt of disapprobation and probably contempt at my seeming fear of being burnt, and without the power of standing still a moment in one place, he stooped down, and I thought he would pitch headlong into the fire, dashed his hand and pipe into the embers and lighted it without any indication of suffering. After this was accomplished he wanted to go to his wigwam, and catching hold of me made signs for me to lead him to it. . . .The old fellow grasped my hand and . . . by pulling and urging I managed to get him to his wigwam.”
To that picture of the drunken chief Winter added, “I have some fears of getting him to sit for me, as he has been drunk ever since I have been here.” Fortunately the artist caught him in a sober moment, with the result that we have the only picture of the chief. (See page 131 in the Journals.) It can be added to the other notables who sat before Winter, notables such as Frances Slocum, the white girl who was stolen in childhood from the Wyoming Valley near Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, and was discovered in her old age living here in Indiana as a chieftess.
Winter’s interest in Kee-waw-nay leads to an inquiry as to the importance of the chief. Had he done anything noteworthy? There is no record of him as a speaker in councils or as a warrior in battles. He is never mentioned in connection with Little Turtle or Tecumseh, the great leaders of the Indians. Although he was old enough to be among the Potawatomies who fought in the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811, his name was never included in the stories told n after years by the participants. The Indians spoke about the leadership of Whiteloon, Stone-eater, and Winnamac, but never mentioned Kee-waw-nay. The most that can be said of him is, that he drew his share of the annuities paid by the United States Government in return for land purchased from the Indians. His X mark, acording to The John Tipton Papers, appears as one of the thirty chiefs who acknowledged the receipt of bacon and flour in 1824. Although his residence was somewhere along the Eel River, he signed annuity receipts together with 18 other chiefs from the Wabash and Elkhart Potawatomies. That was in 1828, when the Government met the treaty obligations by forwarding to its agents silver dollars, cloth goods, salt, iron, tobacco, and steel. Word would be sent ahead setting a well-known distribution point at which the chiefs and their followers could assemble. The distribution point was generally at a trading post. There, the Indians exchanged their furs for
whiskey. The result was a drunken orgy, such as Winter described in the case of Chief Kee-waw-nay. Besides cash from annuities the Indians eould occasionally earn dollars from labor on the roads or canals. For instance, “Kewankna’s labor gang of 23 persons was paid off in October, 1830,” apparently for work on the Michigan Road. The most notable item involving Kee-waw-nay is the appearance of his name on a treaty made in 1832, in which three chiefs reserved for themselves eight sections of land. The Government agreed to make annual payments pf $20,000 for twenty years, to distribute goods in the value of $30,000 in one year, and to pay the debts of the Indian amounting to $62,412. Sharing in this governmental shakedown were the hands of Kee-waw-nay, Nee-bosh, and O-kaw-wause, the chief who lived on the shore of the lake. The arrangement was temporary, for in 1836 these three chiefs ceded to the United States their reserved lands upon payment of $6,400. At the same time the chiefs agreed to move West within two years.
At this point in the story of Chief Kee-waw-nay we may say goodbye to him. On the fall of the year when Winter met him at the lake (1837) a small advanced party of eighty or ninety Indians was conducted west of the Mississippi. Among the number was Chief Kee-waw-nay. That is the last we hear of him. The full migration of the tribe occurred in the summer of 1838, at which time about a thousand Potawatomies, guarded by troops commanded by Col. Abel C. Pepper and General John Tipton, plodded across the prairies to their new home in Kansas.
Concerning this moving, forced migration, of the Potawatomies there have been some expressions of sorrow. The plight of the Indians, driven from their ancestral homes, herded by troops for seven or eight hundred miles, has caused sympathetic writers to forget that the natives had sided with the French and the British, that they had sold their lands and had agreed by treaty to move. Furthermore these Potawatomies were selling land from which they had driven the Illinois, Kickapoos, and Miamis. But when the moving day came they stubbornly refused to pull up stakes. It was necessary to round them up and then to guide them and feed them as they slowly tramped westward. Their hardships under military convoy can hardly be compared with those of the migrating pioneers - men, women and children, from the East who with incredible labor moved in and turned a wilderness inhabited by two thousand Indians into a civilized State, occupied by millions.
Having seen Chief Kee-waw-nay and his tribe on the way to the
setting sun, we may now inquire whether he left behind him any traces of his existence in Indiana. Could it be that a lake and a town had obtained their names from him? As to the lake and the village on the shore there is no evidence that they were named after him, or he after either of them. It is not probable that the Indians named the lake after the chief, for they seldom named places after persons, but rather after resemblances. When exceptions are pointed out it may generally be averred that the whites did the naming. This would be true of Kokomo, named after a chief, Strawtown after Chief Straw, Anderson after a chief by that name, both of the latter being anglicised. None of these places were named by Indians.
In fact when the surveyors reached Lake Kee-waw-nay in 1831 they set down in their notes the “meanders of an unnamed lake.” That note may mean that the surveyors did not meet anyone who could give a name to the lake. It did, however, have a name, for as already pointed out the Indians and government officials gathered for a council at a place known to both parties, a place named Lake Kee-waw-nay.
This lake in the post-glacial age must have been much larger than it is now, judging by the muck botton soil that extends here abouts for miles. Even in the days of the original survey and later, before drainage, it must have covered more ground than the present 202 acres, for John Stamm, the father of Jesse Stamm who now tills the ancestral farm bordering the lake, once rowed a boat to Kewanna. This feat does not mean that the lake at that time extended as far as the town, but that in times of high water the swale leading from Kewanna to the remains of the lake became navigable. Traces of the swale are still visible at the crossing of Road 17 over the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad.
The drainage of the swale, which turned it into farming lands, continued for several years and would have included the lake itself had it not been for the opposition of cottagers on its shores. In fact two attempts were made to blow up the dam at the outlet. Removal of the dam would have doomed the lake and would have extinguished the rail station, now called Bay, which is situated on or near the former village of Kee-waw-nay.
Returning from this digression we turn next to the other trace of Chief Kee-waw-nay, that is to the present town of Kewanna. Was the town named after the chief or after the lake? Research has not been able to settle the question definitely. The probabilities favor the lake, for the Chief did not live hereabuts, but on the Eel River; he had won
no eminence as a warrior, nor as a treaty maker, nor as a speaker. He had migrated westward ten years before a petition for a post office was forwarded to Washington. Added to the disappearance of the chief was the elimination of Lake Kee-waw-nay from the map, for according to Winter when he made a second trip in 1844 he had difficulty in finding the lake because in some mysterious way it had become Bruce Lake, a name applied by someone in honor of the Bruce family which had settled by the lake. As to the petition for a post office it did not ask that an office be established at a place called Bruce but in a place called Kewanna. In accordance with the petition a post office was established on February 18, 1847. The name approved at Washington was Kewanna, the first postmaster being William M. Tygert, a general merchant.
Confusion arises at this point in the history because the town, or a town, had already been laid out or platted here under the name of “Pleasant Grove.” The platting had been done by Eli A. and John Troutman in June, 1845, that is, a year and eight months before the postoffice was established. Of course, a town with two names was bound to get its correspondence and its commerce mixed, not only internally, but with other places. It was soon discovered that there was another Pleasant Grove in the state in Jasper County, and that the Kewanna in Indiana was often tangled with the Kewannee in Illinois.
Topping the confusion arising from the platted name and the post office was a tendency to call the village “Pinhook.” No one living knows how the town got that hame, but the tradition of it lasts to this day. It may have been due to a sharp bend in the road near the present “Curve-Inn Restaurant,” or it may have been inspired by the
rivalry of some neighboring establishment. It so happens that there have been four “Pinhooks” in the state - one in Wayne County which is included in the title if a book by Nellie D. Hubbard, Pinhook to Brazil; another in Lawrence County, with postoffice from 1852 to 1904; a third in LaPorte County, and a Pinhook Park in South Bend. In the latter the tag was applied to the village of Portage, at a bend in the St. Joseph River, by neighboring hamlets which were jealous of its property. The name has survived to this day in the present “Pinhook Park.” How the term came to its offensive meaning, is not known; for according to the dictionary it simply means “a bent hook used in fishing.” On the case up in LaPorte County there was such rivalry between Flood’s Grove and New Durham that the former called the latter “Pinhook” supposing that to be a very scurrilous term. Where-
upon New Durham dubbed Flood’s Grove “Squat Ham.” No matter how the term originated in Kewanna it has clung tenaciously to the memories of the elders and has been pinned on to the younger generation - a real tradition. Mr. John Loft, aged 81, relates that when he was a boy his folks would say “Let’s hitch up and go down to “Pinhook.” Whether the term was applied derisively is not known, but persons who now refer to it genrally smile.
Inasmuch as the platted name of the village was “Pleasant Grove,” naurally we would like to know why it was given that name and why it was afterwards abandoned. A walk through the town will reveal that it is situated on a slight elevation, one high enough to shed rainfall in several directions. On this elevation once grew many splendid oaks and other hardwoods among which the citizens gathered to re-create themselves. The remains of that noble forest are still evident in the huge stumps on Toner and Troutman streets. It was this wood, growing even on Main Street, that led the Troutmans to name the village “Pleasant Grove.” But also, other towns had the same name, a circumstance that led to complications. There were in 1849 eleven localities using the word Pleasant, several of which were Pleasant Groves. One of these, on Nov. 11, 1842, was given a post office which drew mail to Jasper County that should have come to Fulton County. Nevertheless in spite of inconveniences this community clung to the name for twenty-five years.
The proof that the legal name of the town was “Pleasant Grove” altough the post office was Kewanna, comes from abstracts of deeds, from Township Road Books, and from the Docket Book of Benneville Stamm, Justice of the Peace. From two of the abstracts possessed by Oscar Enyart and Luther Shoemaker, is the citation that on June 24, 1847, President John Tyler signed a deed for Eli Troutman’s addition to the town of Pleasant Grove. Over amongst that entry is an abstract in John Parker’s deed as follows: United States to John P. Tygart, dated September 2, 1847, for Lot 346 on the south side addition to the town of Kewanna. Further transfers in Parker’s deed state that the lot was in Pleasant Grove. How could a lot be in two places at the same time? The only reasonable explanation is, that someone inadvertently substituted the post office name of Kewanna for the platted name of Pleasant Grove. There is a Warranty Deed dated January 1, 1874, which contains both names in one entry: “In the town of Kewanna, formerly known as the town of Pleasant Grove.” For additional evidence one may open the Deed Books on file in Rochester.
Trying to settle the question right here we turn to the Library which fortunately possesses a Road Book of Union Township in the handwriting of Benneville Stamm, a former Road Commissioner. A petition dated February 16. 1855. Prayed for a change in the state road from Perrysburg, Miami Co., to Pleasant Grove. On April 11, 1857, an item reads: “Intersection of the State Road from Pleasant Grove to Mauler’s Ford,” May 2, 1857, “Beginning in the Public Road from Pleasant Grove leading to Bruce’s Lake,” Dec. 14, 1863. “To intersect the Winamac and Pleasant Grove road.” The last item in the book, dated April 16, 1870, reads “That Elizabeth Williams be paid six dollars for a town lot in Pleasant Grove for a site to build a school house.” Some research by a student of local education might locate that six dollar lot. At no entry in the Road Book does the word “Kewanna” appear.
In the Docket Book, however, also kept by Benneville Stamm, when he was Justice of the Peace, there is considerable confusion. For instance, in May and December, 1850, Stamm writes that suits were brought from “Pleasant Grove.” He used a small “g”, but in April he used “Pleasant Grove,” with a capital “G”. Then, as the years went by he grew careless, for suits came from “Grove” in 1855, ‘56 and ‘57. That is he whittled off the “Pleasant” part, just as people do now when they speak of going to “Logan.” omitting the “sport,” as useless or time consuming. Once or twice the pen of the Justice slipped (for suits came from Kewanna, Ia., (Feb and Oct, 1851) The book gives the details of suits brought from Aubbeenaubbee, Fulton, Logansport, Union Township, Rochester, Fulton County, and Lake. It is clear that many of the defendants and plaintiffs did not know exactly where they lived. In this account the names of persons who beat-up their wives and did not redeem their notes for $2.50 have been omitted, thereby preventing suits for libel by living descendamts. The main problem has been the documentary proof that the town of “Pleasant Grove” once existed.
Having shown that the town was platted under the name of “Pleasant Grove,” and had clung to that name for a generation, although the post office was Kewanna, we next inquire why the village changed its name. To answer that question the dormant members of aged citizens were awakened, but alas, the change occrred when they were children and as far as they were concerned their town had always been Kewanna. Appeals to the attic of the Court House in Rochester have been in vain.
In the absence of documentation, we fall back upon the theory of the Honorable Henry Barnhart, who wrote the History of Fulton County, which is the third volume of Logan Esarey’s History of Indiana. Barnhart must have had the documents before him, for he quotes from them, at least in part. A movement was begun in the latter days of 1870 or early in 1871 for the incorporation of Pleasant Grove, but with its name changd to that of its post office Kewanna. A petition was circulated, which must have caused considerable discussion. Should the village drop the name by which it had been known for a quarter of a century and adopt that of its post office? And should it incorporate?
Enough names must have been signed to the petition to warrant action by the county auditor and by the county commissioners. These officers taking into consideration the petition, the territory involved, and legal details, issued an order for an election by qualified voters. The whole matter was duly advertised, as required by law. What was the will of the citizens of Pleasant Grove? Did any of them make speeches on the street corners or in the general store? No vibrations have survived.
At any rate on the advertised date, June 3, 1871, an election was held at which nineteen votes were cast, all marked “Yes.” The small number of votes cast might be an indication of indifference, or of tacit consent or of tacit objection. There was a lack of enthusiasm which was displayed at Rochester, Fulton, and Akron when these towns applied for incorporation. No matter what may have been the cause of the small vote, the commissioners were satisfied that the election was legally conducted. Therefore on December 4, 1871, it was ordered that the town be “incorporated by the name and style aforesaid (Kewanna), and shall hereafter be judicially taken notice of without pleading or alleging the same.”
Thus the former village of Pleasant Grove alias Pinhook, became the second incorporated town in Fulton County, its new name agreeing with that of the post office - Kewanna, the beautiful town of the “Prairie Chickens.”
The Sentinel, Nov. 13, 1968
FIRST SCHOOL BUILT 135 YEARS AGO
By Mrs. Helen Turner, High School Librarian
About 135 years ago, the first white settlers came to Fulton county. Before a year had passed, a school had been established with Jacob Bozarth as teacher. A little log cabin located near the present Jaycee park, 12th and Monroe streets, was the first school.
Other early schools met in the Courthouse, Presbyterian church, and the Odd Fellows hall. Many of the early teachers were ministers and only a few women’s names appear in the lists of teachers in those early days.
For about 30 years there was only one teacher for the school but in 1862 a new four-room school was built at Pontiac and York streets and opened with William Hazleton as the first principal.
Early school histories give evidence that all was not calm and peaceful in the establishing of Fulton county’s school system.
For example, the years 1865-66 are referred to as a ‘time of riot and discord” in the school. One early scholar tells of becoming “an expert in throwing paper wads and doing other deviltry which gave the teachers an opportunity to develop the muscles in his good right arm.”
Problems of a different type arose when the new school built in 1887 burned down before it could be occupied.
A lively contrast to the miniskirts of today is related in one early county history.
“It was very fashionable for the girls to wear hoops, the larger the better. I remember my sisters who went to school would sew tucks in their skirts and run grapevines through, making the skirts as large as desired. In our school we sat on benches, and it required a peculiar movement on the part of the girls to sit down just right, which I will not undertake to dscribe, but which I feel certain could not be accomplished by the belles of today without serious consequences.”
The length of the school year in 1867 was 70 days, compared to our present school year of 177 days. For the 70-day session, the principal received $2.66-1/3 a day, the first assistant $2 a day, and teachers $1.33-1/3 a day. In 1868, wages had increased to $2 to $3.75 a day.
The first school house in Richland township was a log cabin given to the district by David Mow. The writing desk consisted of
rough boards nailed around the sides of the school room. The seats were slabs “sawed by Young Ralston with an up-and-down saw.”
Almost all the early accounts mention the spelling bees and spelling schools. At one contest in Union township, the two final contestants were faced with the word “Schenecdochee.” The winner, Nelson Waymire, evidently had been doing his homework. - - - - -
Pur Robert Truitt
The Sentinel, Nov. 25, 1968
Hubert Taylor, 609 Jefferson, has closed out a 51-year career in the shoe business in Rochester with the sale of Hubert’s Shoes, 706 Main street.
Purchasers of the store are Mr. & Mrs. Robert Truitt of Rochster, owners of Truitt’s Shoes, 726 Main street.
Truitt said there will be no immediate changes in operation or personnel of Hubert’s Shoes, except that his wife, Dorothy, will become manager of the business.
Hubert’s Shoes has been a Main street business fixture since 1931 when Taylor purchased the store from William Brinkman, Rochester’s second mayor. There has been a shoe store at the site for some 60 years.
Taylor entered the shoe business in 1917 when he went to work for hs grandfather, Sylvester Alspach, in the latter’s store when it was located where the Deamer & Deamer real estate firm now is headquartered at 806 Main street.
Later, he was a clerk in the Hub Shoe Store, 725 Main street, when it was operated by his grandfather and his uncle, Guy Alspach, Hubert’s brother, Orbra, also was a clerk in that store.
Six years after Hubert purchased Brinkman’s business, Orbra purchased the Hub store and changed its name to Taylor’s Shoes. The brothers operated their friendly competition until Feb. 1, 1966, when Orbra died. Taylor’s Shoes was purchased by Robert Rowe of Huntington and was known as Brown and Rowe until last August, when the business was purchased by its manager, Mark A. Scheiber. He changed the name to Scheiber’s Shoes.
Hubert Taylor said today he has no immediate plans but that he will maintain his residence in Rochester.
Mr. & Mrs. Truitt came to Rochester from Peru in August of 1961 when they purchased the quarters at 725 Main street formerly
occupied by the Miller-Jones shoe store. They redecorated the entire business room of the store before openng it.
The Truitts, who reside on the east side of U.S. 31 just south of the Tippecanoe river bridge north of Rochester, have two daughters, Bobbie, now Mrs. Harry (Spike) Rockwell, and Sharon, 18.
H. & R. BLOCK
Opsns Office Here
The Sentinel, Dec. 4, 1968
H. and R. Block, Inc., America’s largest income tax service, announces the opening of an office at 116 West Ninth street in Rochester. The Block firm operates over 3,000 offices throughout the United States and Canada.
The manager of the new office here, Robert H. McCart, is a native of Indiana and has resided in Rochester the past several years. He has had many years of income tax experience as an accountant and tax consultant. - - - - -
Do Farm Work
The Sentinel, Dec. 21, 1968
Friends and neighbors of Ashel Tabler, RR 4, Rochester, gathered to do his farm work while he is recovering from a fractured skull and other injuries.
Tabler, who lives on Ind. 14 several miles west of Rochester, was hurt when a corn elevator fell on him.
Helping with the work were Eldon Gohn, Marion Gohn, Frank Cripe, Bill Belcher, Mickey Belcher, Ulerick Woodcox, Merrill Wagoner, Bill Skidmore, Vic Skidmore, Bob Wagoner, Richard Wagoner, Dale Smith, Francis Carlson, Dave Clauson, John Henriott, Ellis Green, Francis Crispen, Cecil Tabler, Fred Zellers and Miller Ault.
Helping Mrs. Tabler prepare the dinner were Mrs. Mary Gohn, Mrs. Bernice Crispen and Mrs. Mary Nolin.
HARVEY’S DIME STORE
The Sentinel, Dec. 27, 1968
Harvey’s Dime Store, which has operated an outlet in Rochester for about 17 years, will close its store at 715 Main street, when the present stock has been sold, supervisor Bob Pfaff of Logansport said
The store has occupied its present quarters since 1956, moving from across the street after the building was remodeled following a fire in January of that year.
Previously, the store was at 704 Main street, which was occupied upon Harvey’s move by Samuel Teitelbaum’s clothing store. Teitelbaum closed his business in 1967 and the quarters were occupied in an expansion move by the Schultz Brothers variety store.
By Helen Bryant Nichols
The Sentinel, January 16, 1969
Henry Hoover in the year 1837 brought his wife and family from Miami County, Ohio, to this part of Henry Township, that now comprises Athens and its vicinity, the Township bears his name being Henry in his honor.
Mr. Hoover had previously been in this part of Henry Township is clear by the entries in the land purchace book, in the County Court House in Rochester the County Seat, it shows that he purchased land from the government, which included the site of Millark, on September 6, 1836, and land to the amount of nearly 105 acres on December 1, 1836, at what is now the site of the present village of Athens. The location of this tract is about the northwest corner of the cross roads in the center of Athens, north and west to comprise a fraction less than 105 acres.
He returned the next year with his wife and family, and built a cabin on this land just north of where the Erie Railroad tracks are today. The Oliver Farm Equipment Company occupies land, which includes the site of the first cabin, and also the site a little to the north, where the so called Rooney House used to stand. This is the house Mr. Hoover built m 1870. This house was destroyed by fire a few years ago.
In the year 1840 Mr. Hoover built the mill at Millark, later destroyed by fire and rebult. He also about this time built, two miles to the East of Millark, a General Store for trade with the Indians. This store was on the south side of the trail, this Indian Trail started west of Lake Manitou. This trail, some places, roughly divided the Territory of the Potawatomi, and the Miami Indians, it seems they had no clearly defined line of separation.
The trail later became the old Wabash Road, which went out
what is now Wabash Street to Rochester, to Mount Zion Mill, where the trail crossed the stream, and continued on to Millark, then to Hoover’s Station or Trading Post, then on to Wabash by way of Gilead. The present road, much of the way follows the old Indian Trail, some places the road had been straightened to follow section lines. I believe at an early date a Wabash stage line followed this route.
The Hoover Trading Post was a community of the General Store, with the post office. A school was soon built to the east a short distance and on the south side of the trail, but when a new school was built, it was built on the north side and almost directly across from the earlier school. This was now called Pleasant Hill and just a little to the north, there is a little long forgotten cemetery, only one stone is left standing at this late date. A church was built to the east of the school and also called Pleasant Hill Church. This community is located a short distance over in Miami County.
I have described these places because their existence is directly due to the energy and ability of this early pioneer of this section of Henry Township, who helped in the clearing of this Virgin territory, from a wilderness inhabited by primitive Indians, to what it is today a prosperous rich farm community.
There are numerous entries in the land purchased book where Henry Hoover made purchases of various tracts of land in the area. Thus he was later able to sell to the many people who were now coming to this new land seeking homes. The land was covered with hardwood forests of oak, beech, walnut, hard maple and other valuable timber, which as the land was cleared sawmills were built in the various communities, one was at Millark and another was soon built at the crossing of the trails, which had now come to be called Hoover’s Station. This land was filled with wild game and was dotted with small lakes and streams of clear water.
Some of the early settlers besides the Hoovers were the McIntires, the Bittles, the Moores, the Clevengers and the William Rannells and many others. The center of what later became the Athens Community was the so-called crossing of the trails, now the cross roads in the center of Athens. When the eariest families arrived there was a large circle of maple trees here. The Indians were said to have from earliest times used the space for their war dances and other ritualistic and ceremonial dances of the Potawatomi Tribe.
The Hoovers used to tell very interesting accounts of their Indian friends, and neighbors, how they used to visit them in their wigwams
and of the friendship which existed beteeen them, the Indians would show them how they raised their patches of corn and squash, and how they made their maple syrup and sugar. This community had at this time many sugar trees and some folks now remember the sugar camp which used to be just south of the picnic grounds. This was on the land first built on by William Rannells in 1837.
Mr. William Rannells was another of the early comers to this community, just twelve days after Henry Hoover bought land here. Mr. Rannells bought land from the government to the amount of 80 acres one-half mile south of the crossing of the trails, it was about one-half mile north of Beaver Creek. This land lay east of the trail going south, the next day, December 14th, he bought from the government, as the land purchase book shows 100 acres. This was about one-half mile east of the crossing of the trails and was located in the northeast corner of section 18, and now crossed by the Erie Railroad tracks and by State Road 14, and is bounded on the east by Road 700 East.
Mr. Rannells went back to Cory, Ohio, and returned early the next spring with his wife and family. His wife was Susan Rannells, his cousin, and they had originally come from Virginia snd stopped for a few years in Ohio. Mrs. Rannells had a young colored girl who wanted to come with her young mistress, her name was Fannie Rose. She came with them to Indiana where she remained a faithful companion and servant until her death, which as the little headstone reads “died June 1, 1855, age about 42 years.” She is buried in the Rannells private burial plot of what later became the Mount Hope Cemetery.
The Potawatomi Indians in 1838 were preparing to leave for their new home beyond the Mississippi River. The Rannells built a cabin on the 30 acre tract south of the crossing of the trails, but in a few years this was too small for their growing family and they began to plan a new home to be built on the land to the north and east. It was built some distance south of Chippewanuck Creek. Mr. Hoover had built a dam across the creek a short distance north of his cabin which formed a Mill Pond and now a saw mill was built. Mr. Rannells was able to get the lumber sawed for the new home at this Hoover Saw-mill, and by August 25, 1842 the new home was completed, and a beauty it was here in this new country of Indians. They had remembered the old home in Virginia and had now as near as possible re-created the old home in the new country. The house was a large two-story house facing west with a porch later covered with honeysuckle vines. I will let Dr. John E. Brackett describe a scene of
long ago when he and a grandson visited his grandmother, his
grandfather was now dead and lay buried in the little Rannells bural plot a little way to the north and west of the house. His own father was also buried here, he having died in 1847, Dr. Brackett, in the description of the house, had said it was painted white with green shutters.
This is as Dr. Brackett told it to Margaret Miller and recorded in Home Folks Vol. 11. “Grandma was seated complacently in an easy chair on the honeysuckle covered porch, and Fanny Rose peering over the gate, Grandma had risen to greet me holding out her soft white plump hand. I stooped over and kissed it, a ceremony she was very fond of and one I had been early taught by my Mother.
:”Why Grandma,” I exclaimed. “What a beautiful dress you have on, and the new dainty lace cap is so becoming. I declare you look as if you had stepped off a Watteau fan. Every day you look more like Martha Washington.” All this pleased her very much.
Mr. Rannells with his son had built a General Store in Rochester soon after the completion of the new house. He turned the management of the farm over to his son-in-law, Will Wood. Mr. Wood had married Nancy Rannells some time before this. Mr. Rannells was successful in his business and was elected to serve two terms in the State Legislature and after his death Nancy and her husband continued to operate the farm as long as Mr. Wood lived. He died in 1865. Mrs. Rannells had died in 1861. They are all buried in the Rannels private plot which as stated before was later incorporated in the Hoover or Mount Hope Cemetery.
It is believed that it was shortly after the death of Will Wood that the large home was turned into a Tavern or Inn. It served in this capacity for several years even for some years after the Erie Railroad was built in 1882. When the survey for the railroad was made it went right through the place where the home stood, and forced moving the buildings to a new location. The house was moved to the north and east, and it was turned around so it now faced the south. It had now lost much of its beauty and charm of its earlier days. The railroad was too close on the north and the road was much too close on the south. The Inn was known as Rannells house, after some years in the new location and need of a tavern was no longer felt. The Depot which had first been built across the tracks from the Inn was now moved down nearer the village. The house was now used as a farm home again. It is remembered also for the beauty of the interior, which was all finished
in wild cherry and black walnut, with an open stairs with a curving banister, every room had a built-in wardrobe or cupboard.
Mr. Rannells had planted a large orhard along Chippewa-nuc creek, and in later years this orchard was known for miles around. A cider mill was built to the north of the Hoover Sawmill. It is recorded that on July 4th, 1865 James Kuffell and a friend were standing on the bridge below the dam, they had just stepped off the bridge when the dam gave way, and the water carried everything before it. The dam was never rebuilt, and nothing now remains of the creek as it has been drained to the north and this land is now all farm land.
The Athens community continued to grow, the Indians had been gone for several years, and white families continued to come seeking homes in this place of rich farm lands. Mr. Hoover was able to sell more and more of his vast holdings. He built a new home in 1870 just north of the first cabin. A new school had been built about a half mile to the east of the village. The first school was built about a half mile north and east of the Hoover Sawmill and probably the first teacher at this school was a Mr. James F. Wagoner, this was about the early eighteen fifties.
Reverend Richardson in 1876 held a revival meeting in the new brick school house, which was called Mount Hope School. There were several conversions made at this meeting and the need for a church building was felt. Reverend William Bass came to the community and organized a United Brethren Church group. They now began to plan a church building. The Rannells family deeded a plot of ground south of the Rannells burial ground to be used for a church building site. The church was completed in 1877, and was dedicated by Rev. Coverstone, who served as the first pastor. The first Trustees were Isaac Moore, Danial Cuffel, William Zellers, Ben Moore and Mark Bowen. The building was of brick and it served the community as a house of worship for fifty years. In 1927 it was decided to build a new church nearer the Village.
The railroad had been built through the village in 1882, which at this time was known as Hoover Station. The first passenger train from Huntington, Indiana to Chicago, Illinois went through the little station on April 2, 1883. The town now had a business district. A store building had been erected by Mr. Hoover on the northeast corner where the Farmarket plant is now located and the Barkman Brothers had a General Merchandise store across on the southwest side of the intersection. A cream station was soon built back of the Hoover
building next to the tracks, which was later moved out to the front on the northwest corner and a blacksmith shop was in the rear of it and next to the track. There was at one time a shop north of the tracks.
Another early store building was built on the south side of the road it was on the east corner. This building was built by Nancy Wood, the widow of William Wood, who as we know was the daughter of William Rannells. This was a two-story building with the second floor occpied by the Macabees Lodge. The Gleaners also held their meetings here. The first store to occupy the lower floor was run by Mr. P.P. Kegg, the next owner was Francis Richardson, he then sold the business to Fred Rowe, who sold to Horace Eggleston. Mr. Eggleston died and Mr. Noah Shively married Mrs. Eggleston, they operated the business until 1931, when Mr. Edgar Stanton purchased the General Store, which now became known as the Stanton Store. Mr. & Mrs. Stanton operated the business and the post office for twenty years, when they discontinued the store which was soon torn down. Mr. Stanton built a smaller building a little way to the east where he continued to operate the post office for another two years when he retired and Mr. Cliff Alderfer, who had purchased the Russell Shipley store, took over the operation of the post office. Mr. Shipley, school teacher, had operated the store with the help of his wife. He retired from teaching and still lives in Athens.
The Shipley Store building had at one time been the home of the Whistler Buggy Repair and Paint Shop. Later Ray Newell had an auto accessory and Hardware Store in this building. It was after the railroad had established passenger service and was now carrying the mail the Post Office Department notified them that they must select a new name for the town, as there were already two other places called Hoover Station, one being the little Trading Post to the sotheast and another was east of Logansport.
There had been a little village by the name of Grant just south of the Noftsger corner two miles east of Hoovers Station. On the early morning of January 11, 1882, ths tiny community ceased to exist as the Noftsgers General Store and Post Office was completely destroyed by fire. The entire contents of the store and postal supplies were completely destroyed. Later the Post Office Department notified Hoovers Station to select a new name they adopted the name of Grant their former sister community.
In the plat book in the county court house in Rochester the town of Grant was first platted July 29, 1889, a later addition was added in
1891. In 1908 the Kern Addition was added, by this time it was called Athens, which name it bears today. The name Athens was adpted at a meeting held in the Macabee Lodge Hall in 1897. At this meeting the two chief men in favor of the change were Oscar Johnson and Abe Hoover. After some discussion the motion was made to change the name to Ahens, the motion was carried and the new name was adopted.
Mr. James Stinson had built a sawmill in 1880 and some time later sold it to Mr. William Sagers, who operated it for many years. There was also at this time a stave-mill near the sawmill, it was operated by a Mr. Pat Flannagan, this sawmill and stave factory were located on land later owned by Mr. John R. Barr and wife, and was located across on the south side of the road from the prsent Farmarket plant. In the year 1915, Mr. & Mrs. Barr gave a plot of land located in the northwest corner and south of the highway to members of the Church of God on which to build a church building. A group of men got together and decided to purchase and tear down the Old Trinity Church or as it was commonly called Burns Chapel, wich was located perhaps six miles northeast of the Village. This Material was used in the building of the new Church of God.
Loyd Bryant and Cecil Shoemaker and several others donated their labor and the building was soon ready for the first service. The first trustees were Daniel Wildermuh,Philip Bryant and Chester Morris. The first Pastor was Reverend H.M. Riggle. Rev. Ellis and Rev. Slaybaugh were other early pastors. Services were held here regularly until 1940, at which time the Athens congregation united with the Akron Church of God. The building was then purchased by Mr. Ernest Nichols, and the ground reverted back to Mr. Nichols as being the former owner, and is at this time owned by Mrs. Helen Nichols, wife of the deceased Ernest Nichols.
The Village continued to grow, with now a population of two hundred persons. The first depot had been built about 10 rods east of the Mount Hope Church at the cemetery, and on the north side of the tracks. It was later moved nearer the Village, and then later was moved to the rear of the Hoover store building where the Cream Station had been, which had now been moved out on the northwest corner. A long time station agent was Lou Moonshower, the telegaph operator was De Mattux.
The Hoover building was at an early date occupied by the Wesley Siekman General Store, later a butcher shop was located here.
This was run by Oliver Borden,. Vern Miller had a barber shop on the second floor. Dan Bryant was another early barber of Athens. Some of the early blacksmiths were George Saggers, Omer VanLou and Warren Heater.
The Barkman Brothers store was located in the southwest corner, a large two-story building; this building it seems was first occupied by Otis Greeley who had a General Store here. It is remembered that at one time Wesley Heckman had a drug store on this corner. William Kern had for many years a General Store here he ran a huckster wagon through the surrounding countryside. It was in later years he managed the local pickle factory. Mr. Kern, a lifelong business man of Athens, was known ny all for miles around. He was known to all his many friends as Billy.
The first doctor was a Doctor Hill and then Dr. A.E. Stinson located here, his office was on the second floor of the Barkman Building. Doctor Stinson was the well known and well liked doctor and friend until his death in 1957. His wife, Grace, continued to live in the family home on Main Street until shortly before her death in 1968. Dr. Dean Siinson of Rochester, is their son. It was some time around 1914 that Mr. Ivan Pownell, Delta Winegardner and Jerome Hazelett had a blacksmith and repair shop in this Barkman Building before it was torn down and replaced with the present cement block building. The business started by these three men beame one if the earlier garages. They procured a 32-volt generator powered by a gasoline engine. Two houses were wired for electric lights, Delta Winegardners and Edward McGee’s, later Ivan Pownell’s house, the last house to the west of town on the south street was also wired, these were the first electric lights in Athens. These early pioneers in electric lighting strung wires acrss the street from their shop and lighted a croquet field with a light on a pole near the road, which served to somewhat light up a portion of the road, which was the first street light in Athens.
The Athens Elevator and livestock loading pens were where the Farmarket Plant is now located. The elevator was owned by Francis Heeter. It was destroyed by fire several years ago.
A new church was built after the old church by the cemetery had served the congregation and community for fifty years. On March 28, 1927 Mrs. Leo Streich bought and deeded a house and lot in Athens for a parsonage and adjoining lots for a church building. It was on July 24, 1927 the corner stone was laid under the supervision of the District Superintendent, Dr. J.H. Showers of Dayton, Ohio. The Rev.
J.D. Smith was the pastor during this period the church was being built, and the trustees at this time were Walter Rogers, Roscoe Burkett, D. A.E. Stinson, Amos Sanders, Jesse Burns and Ellis Riley.
Constrction work on the new school was started in 1903, and was completed and ready for the classes in 1904. The first teachers were Blanch Swihart, Lillian Dawson and C.I. Clemens. The Athens School was consolidated with the Akron School in 1937. The building was demolished in 1940 and was still in very good condition.
Athens had a brass band in the early days of the century which gave concerts on Saturday nights in the center of Athens. It also formed a marching unit on the Fourth of July and on numerous other occasions when they had speakers and celebrations in the picnic grounds. The hall above the Stanton store was a place for community meetings, where plays were given and also other forms of entertainment were provided by local talent.
I must say a word about somethng that use to be an Athens indtitution, this was the annual Athens Sunday School Picnic. They were held in the grove across from where the new United Methodist Church stands. People would come from miles around to attend these picnics.
Athens today is a thriving little Village with a very interesting past and a bright future ahead as a growing community of suburban dwellers, many of them travel to surrounding towns and cities for their daily business and employment, but who enjoy the beauty and quiet as well as the friendliness of village life this community has to offer.
Mgr, Richard Allen
The Sentinel, February 6, 1969
Management of the Roll-Arena skating rink, a mile north of the city on U.S. 31, is being assumed this week by Mr. & Mrs. Richard Allen.
Mrs. Allen is the former Georgia Fryer. Her parents, Mr. & Mrs. George Fryer, have operated the rink here for the past 18 years.
The Allens return to the city from Sarasota, Fla., where they have operated a skating rink the past year. Grand opening of the Roll-Arena with the Allens in command is set for this weekend. Free instruction will be a part of the opening plans, with regular skating on Friday, Saturday and Tuesday evenings, Saturday and Saturday afternoons.
Robert Delp, Operator
The Sentinel, February 17, 1969
Olsen Cleaners, located at the rear of 711 Jefferson street, will be operated by Robert Delp beginnng March 1, owner Ted Olsen said today.
The business has been leased by Delp, a former local resident, and he will be in complete charge of the operation. He returns to the city from Big Rapids, Mich., where he has been manager of the Sears Roebuck & Company store since last September.
Olsen has been associated in the dry cleaning business here since 1922, when he began work for the late John Allison. He has owned his own business since 1936. He said he will sssist Delp occasionally, but plans an Alaska trip this summer with his wife, Dorothy, and also will pursue his hobbies of golf and fishing.
Delp formerly was an assistant with Olsen for eight years. He then was associated with Quick Lanes, operated the Chalk & Que recreation center here and was manager of the local Sears catalog store before moving to Big Rapids.
ROCH MONUMENT WORKS
The Sentinel, February 20, 1969
Warren Tatter, owner of the Rochester Monument Works, 1500 Main street, announced today that he has merged the business with the Patten Monument company, which is head-quartered in Kalamazoo, Mich.
He said his business will remain at the present location but will have a larger shop area and more stones on display. The interior of the shop also has been remodeled.
There will be no change in the name of the local firm.
The Patten company operates monument businesses in Grand Rapids, Hastings, Kalamazoo, Sturgis and Lansing, Mich., and in Elkhart and Warsaw.
Tatter will do the lettering of monuments for the firms in Elkhart, Warsaw and Rochester. He will continue to own the equipment and the property at his business site.
Tatter has owned and operated the Rochester Monument Works since purchasing it from John Hiatt in 1958.
FULTON CO LBR CO
The Sentinel, February 25, 1969
One of the city’s landmarks, the two story brick building on the northwest corner of East Eighth street and the Norfolk & Western railroad tracks - is yielding to progress this week.
The 65 year-old structure, perhaps better known as the home the Baileys constructed in the early 1900s, is being razed by its latest owners, Mr. & Mrs. Pete Terpstra, who purchased it last May from Fred M. Fraser of Rochester.
The lot will be graded and used by the Terpstras’ Fulton County Lumber and Construction company.
The earliest reference in history books to the land occupied by the present building, shows that it was the site of the first cabin built in Rochester.
James Elliott and J.W. Shields, who came to this area in 1830 or 1831 from Jennings county, are listed as Rochester’s first permanent settlers. Elliott built a cabin approximately where the present building stands.
Fraser, who purchased the property in May of 1951, looked up the abstract. Its first entry shows the land being owned by Christian and Margaret Hoover in 1877. Subsequent owners were Corn King Husker company (1902), Warren B. and Allie J. Martindale (1905) and Stilla P. and Essa Bailey (also 1905).
The Baileys constructed the present building in 1905. The abstract shows the following subsequent owners: Wirt M. and Elta B. Hazen, 1917; Rochester Lumber and Coal company, also 1917; Oren M. Hendrickon and J. Albert Herbster, 1925; Fulton County Lumber and Coal company, 1945; Fraser, and the Terpstras.
Stilla Bailey, who founded the present Bailey hardware business that now is located at 712-714 Main street, operated a lumber yard and planing mill in the Eighth street building. He went into the hardware business when he sold the building to the Hazens in 1917.
Vera Metz operated a restaurant in the building at one time; later opening the American restaurant where the Courthouse View restaurant is now at 719 Main street.
Another former occupant of the building was Newt Izzard, who had a cigar manufacturing business there.
Frazer had his DeKalb seed corn office in the building for more than 20 years, renting the building part of the time from the Fulton
County Lumber and Coal company.
But perhaps best remembered by longtime residents of the community was the use of the building by Minnie Capp, who with her husband Harry operated a restaurant from about 1911 to 1922 or 1923 that catered both to townspeople and railroad travelers.
Carl Keel, office manager of Indiana Metal Products here, has vivid recollections of Minnie Capp’s restaurant. His father, Charles, was cashier from 1896-1934 of the old Lake Erie and Western railroad depot across the street.
As a boy Carl had the job during summertime of carrying a big wooden box of food from the restaurant to the depot where the lunches were served to train passengers and crew.
Six LE&W trains came through Rochester Daily - three northbound and three southbound. One came near noon and another near suppertime. The conductor or brakeman would go through the train taking orders for meals. At Macy or Argos, he would telegraph to Rochester giving the number of meals needed. The food would be ready when the trains arrived here.
The meals would be distributed from the wooden box as the train continued to its destination. On the trip back, the box would be returned to the restaurant.
The Nickel Plate railroad merged with the LE&W in later years, and still later the N.P. became part of the Norfolk and Western system. Last October, the N&W station was closed and James Cummins, agent since 1957, went to the N&W depot at Plymouth to be agent for the Plymouth, Walkerton and Rochester areas.
The depot buildings at both Rochester and Walkerton are scheduled to be demolished in the future, Cummins said, removing the last evidence of the days when Minnie Capp’s restaurant and the LE&W both were going strong.
Opening Next Week
The Sentinel, March 1, 1969
Public open house Sunday afternoon will introduce Canterbury Manor, new 52-bed nursing and convalescent center, to residents of this community.
Mr. & Mrs. Carl Miller, owners of the facility, will open the doors for public inspection from 1-5 p.m. Canterbury Manor has been constructed on a seven-acre site just west of City Park, on County
Road 50 North.
It is the first modern convalescent home to be built in the county. Of modified colonial brick style, the building contains complete kitehen, dining room, lounge, chapel, beauty shop and recreation areas.
The Millers have been in the nursing home business here since 1957, having operated the Miller nursing home at 719 Madison street. That 42-bed home will be continued.
General contractor for the new Canterbury Manor was Heiman & Miller Inc., of Claypool. Electrical contractor was Romine Electric of Mentone.
Occupancy of the facility is expected to begin within the next week.
The Sentinel, March 21, 1969
Stephen Hughes will assume management of the P.N. Hirsch & Company store, 808 Main street, on Monday to replace Mike Fitzpatrick, who has been named manager of the Hirsch store at Westville, Ill.
Hughes comes here from Robinson, Ill., his home city, where he had been assistant manager of the Hirsch outlet. He has been with the company 2-1/2 years.
Hughes and his wife are the parents of a son, 4, and a girl, four months. The family will reside south of the city on U.S. 31. Fitzpatrick has been Hirsch manager here the past year.
ROCH EQUIP. CO
Pur. Don Scales
The Sentinel, March 24, 1969
Don Scales of Grass Creek has purchased complete ownership of Rochester Equipment Company Inc., 1619 Main street, and now is operating the business under the name of Scales Implement Store.
Scales had been in partnership in the business with Wilbur Wheadon and Everett Rentschler. The three men bought the firm in 1965 from Charles Travis.
Scales Implement handles a complete line of John Deere farm Equipment and offers service facilities as well. Maurice Coplen of Newcastle township has been employed as parts manager.
Scales was employed by Travis at the local business from 1948-61, then opened his own John Deere agncy at Woodburn, near Fort Wayne, before returning here in 1965.
Reopening New Location
The Sentinel, May 1, 1969
Foley’s Jewelers reopems Friday morning in its new location at 706 Main street.
Gene and Mary Jane Foley owners of the business have completed an extensive, three-month remodeling of the former Huberts Shoes buildng which they purchased after the latter went out of business. Foley’s previously was located at 622 Main street, next to the Times Theatter.
The new store shows a new entrance with raised display windows and limestone base. The interior has been completely revised with walnut wall paneling and woodwork throughout, new lighting and carpeting.
The Foleys have been in the jewelry business here for 12 years and operated from the 622 Main location the past three years.
The store features a complete line of diamonds, costume jewelry, watches, silverware and rings as well as allied articles. Watch and jewelry repair also are offered.
Opening by Glen Rayl
The Sentinel, May 16, 1969
Sew-Mor Fabrics will open for business in Rochester Friday, May 23, at remodeled quarters at 804 Main street, formerly occupied by Deamer & Deamer.
The store, which will feature a complete line of yard goods, is owned by Glen and Vera Rayl of Kokomo. They have been in business 12 years in the latter city, where they own the Mill End Fabric Shop and Miss Vivian’s Bridal Shop.
The Rochester business, besides Brand Names yard goods, will offer formal materials; patterns in Butterick, Vogude and Mode Royale lines; La Mode buttons; Unique invisable and Talon zippers, and a policy of personal servie to customers. The shop also will contain a Bridal Room with imported laces, brocades and embroidering; bridal headpieces, silk illusion and bridal accessories.
Pur. Cinecom Corp
The Sentinel, May 27, 1969
The Times Theatre in Rochester has been sold by the Alliance Amusement Corporation to the Cinecom Corporation of Chicago and New York, according to an announcement today by R.H. Walters, theatre manager. - - - - -
REED SCHOOL REUN
At Olive Branch
The Sentinel, June 21, 1969
Onetime members of the former Reed school, southwest of Fulton, reunited June 14 in the basement of the Olive Branch church. Mrs. Zylphia (Reed) Poorman presided over the meeting.
The group decided to hold an annual reunion on the second Saturday in June at the Olive Branch church. Mrs. Poorman was elected president and Mrs. Lydia Easterday, secretary-treasurer for next year. Anyone who attended Reed school is welcome to the reunions.
Clarence Reed gave the before-the-meal-prayer. A short program followed the dinner. There were several persons at the reunion who had attended the school prior to 1905.
Each person present gave a resume of his or her life-and recalled a school memory. Because June is traditional known as “Bride’s Month,” Marie Alber compared the weddings of today to those in ancient Roman times. She stated that many of the nuptial procedures remain as timeless as the institution of marriage itself.
She read a poem entitled “Father and Son,” in honor of Father’s Day. Mrs. Lydia Easterday read a report on last year’s reunion, when it was organzed.
Following the offering, Mrs. Easterday read a poem honoring Fathers.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Paul Julian, Angola; Mr. & Mrs. Claude Fred, Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Marion Chizum, Kewanna; Mrs. Agnes (Hendrickson) Rans, Mentone; Mrs. Effie (Bailey) Thrush, Mrs. Florence (Alber) Hibbs, Mrs. Ruth ( Pownall) Rouch, Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber, all of Rochester. Also, Mr. & Mrs. Estil Champ, Mrs. Sylvia (Collins) Jewell, Mrs. Nellie Rieminschneider, Mrs. Zylphia (Reed) Poorman, Mrs. Lydia (Reed) Easterday, Fulton; Richard Rice and Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Reed.
MT. ZION SCHOOL REUN
At Van Duyne Block
The Sentinel, July 9, 1969
The 12th annual reunion of former pupils and teachers of the one-room school at Mt. Zion was held July 4 at the Van Duyne Block and Gravel company with 38 in attendance.
A basket dinner was held at noon with Estil Ginn giving the before-the-meal prayer. During the business meeting, the officers were reelected. They are: Henry Dixon, president; Mildred Van Duyne, secretary-treasurer.
It was voted to meet at the same time and place for a reunion next year. A discussion was held on recalling some of the earliest teachers of the school. Howard King and Mrs. Ed Fishback were appointed to look into the records and report on the matter at next year’s reunion.
For devotions, Mrs. Henry Dixon read poems entitled “I Go My Way” and “The Old Neighborhood.” The Van Duyne family was given a standing ovation in appreciation for the work they do for the reunion and Mt. Zion cemetery.
John Dixon showed pictures taken at former reunions. Five former teachers were present. Each responded with poewms or a remembrance of some sort. Teachers present were Fred Deardorff, Estil Ginn, Ray Shelton, Dean Mow and Fred Van Duyne.
Those present were Byron Aughinbaugh, Sun City, Cal., Joe Dixon, Groveland, Fla.; John Dixon, Casspolis, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff, Richmond; Mr. & Mrs. Henry Dixon, Auburn, and Mr. & Mrs. Elson Holdred and children, Plymouth.
Also, local residents attending were Mrs. Art Fansler, Mr. & Mrs. Howard King, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Craig, Mr. & Mrs. Dean Mow, Mrs. Henry Moore, Clarice Moore, Floyd Deardorff, Mrs. Lloyd Pickens, Mrs. Arthur Weaver Sr., Ted Butler, Mrs. Fay Ross, Mrs. DaVon Whisler, Mrs. Ed Runkle, Mrs. Ed. Fishback, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.
Center Lake, Warsaw
The Sentinel, July 17, 1969
The Edwards family reunion was held at Center Lake in Warsaw on Sunday. Following the carry-in dinner, swimming, Boating and games were enjoyed.
Richard Edwards, Macy, was elected to plan the event for the following year.
Those attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Harold Edwards and Kimm, Mr. & Mrs. Harold L. Edwards and daughtrs of Warsaw; Mr. & Mrs. Carl Allen and Nancy, Mrs. Janice Kelly and children, Mr. & Mrs. David Hensley and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Scroggs of Muncie.
Also, Mrs. Marjorie Bryant, Florida; Mr. & Mrs. Edward Brown, Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Bud Cloud and family, Rochester; Mike Skinner, Mexico; Neil Culler, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Ron Baber and Carol, Lt. Rick Baber, Miss Joyce Van Cleef.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Orville Renfroe, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Townsend and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Reese and family, Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Edwards and Ray, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Edwards and children and Mr. & Mrs. Ted Edwards and family of Macy.
The Sentinel, July 18, 1969
Rochester college alumni held their 40th annual meeting July 13. Former students, their spouses and friends met at the Lakeside Inn, Rochester, for the session and dinner, served by the personnel of the restaurant.
The president, the Rev. Clyde Walters, called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m., at which time he called upon Don Nafe to ask the blessing.
After dinner, the group retired to the inn’s reception room for the business session and program. Mr. Nafe directed the singing of several familiar songs. Mrs. Dorothy Clauson accompanied at the piano. Mrs. Golda Polen gave a memorial report on those who passed away during the last year. She read the names of Ray Myers, Adam Eherenman, Minnie (Wagoner) Mathews, Dessa Busenburg and Della (Jones) Shock. The Rev. Walters offered a prayer.
Robert Smith Jr., a magician, performed.
Following the program, the minutes of the last meeting were
read and the treasurer’s report was given. It was voted to hold the reunion next year. The nominating committee, consisting of Earl Hicks, chairman, E.C. Carvey, and Otto Babcock, suggested the following names: President, the Rev. Walters; vice president, Charle Lucas; secretary, Ethel Snapp, and treasurer, Estil Ginn. They were voted to their respective offices by those present.
A memorial to Rochester college was discussed. There was much interest shown and pledges in the amount of $420 were made. A committee to contnue the plans for this project was named as follows: Mr. Hicks, Mrs. Lucas, the Rev. Walters, Edna Burns, Dow Haimbaugh, Anna McVay and Mr. Ginn.
Letters were received from Professor Marion Hall, Lansing, Mich.; Hubert E. Mogle, Lombard, Ill.; and Mrs. Weldon Sorgrist, South Bend.
The meeting was adjourned with the group singing, “God Be With You Till We Meet Again,” and a prayer by the Rev. Walters.
Those attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Don Nafe, Ypsilanti, Mich.; Mrs. Maude Austin and Mrs. Ann (Austin) Oyler, Plymouth; Mrs. Golda Polen, Kewanna; Mrs. Edna Burns, North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas, Knox; Mr. & Mrs. Earl Hicks, Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. E.C Carvey, Converse.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Roy Gasaway, Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Otto Babcock and Mrs. Gladys Maple, Waterman, Ill.; Mrs. Tessa (Cooper) Stayton, Mishawaka; Mrs. Edith Glen Merley and Mrs. Wildermuth, Akron; Mrs. L.S. Carvey, Macy.
Miss Belva Miller, Mrs. A.B. Shore, Mrs. Ethel Snapp, Mss Edna Sheets, Mrs. Frances McMahan, Mrs. Ethel Collins Ream, the Rev. & Mrs. Clyde Walters, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Dean Mow, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay, Mrs. Sam Reiter, Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna, Mrs. Minnie Alexander, Dr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Miss Emily Von Ehrenstein, Mrs. Pearl Hiland, Mrs. Fay Van Trump and Estil Ginn.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 25, 1969
The Lowe reunion, held Sunday at the Rochester City Park, was attended by 98 relatives and nine guests. The reunion is held annually in honor of Mrs. Bessie Lowe’s birthdate. She was 87 years old on July 23.
During the business session, prizes were awarded to Mrs. Lowe
for being the oldest present and Wendy Goodman, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Vernon Goodman, for being the youngest present.
New officers elected for the 1970 reunion are Roy W. Glentzer, president; Jim Kesler, vice president; and Betty Geane Glentzer, secretary-treasurer.
Games were held in the afternoon.
Jack Thompson, Res.
The Sentinel, July 29, 1969
The 47th Walters reunion was held July 20 at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Jack Thompson of Argos.
There were 60 relatives and two guests present from Rochester, South Whitley, Akron, South Bend, Mishawaka and Argos, Ind., Niles, Mich., and Elwood, Ill. The Rev. Clyde Walters of Rochester returned thanks before the meal was served.
The president, Don Stouder of South Whitley, conducted a short business meeting. The following officers were elected: George Cumberland, Akron, president; Richard Kline, Mishawaka, vice president; Mrs. Jack Thompson, Argos, secretary, and Asa Bollinger, South Whitley, treasurer.
It was voted to hold the next year’s reunion the third Sunday of July at the Centennial Park in Plymouth.
Mr. & Mrs. Jim Six of South Bend conducted games for all ages.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 4, 1969
The family of Stephen Fansler held an annual reunion at the Rochester City Park, Sunday, July 27.
All five sisters and two brothers were in attendance. They are: Mrs. Viola Clawson and family of Medaryville; Mrs. Mary Chambers and family of Logansport; Mrs. Bertha Zeider of Niles, Mich.; Mrs. Amy Crabb and son of Kewanna; Emma Fansler and family of Logansport; Lester Fansler of Gary, and Art Fansler of Rochester.
Other nieces, nephews and friends also were present. A basket dinner was held and the day was spent socialy.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 2, 1969
Seventy-seven persons attended the Swanson reunion held July 20 at the Rochester City Park. Mrs. Tish Blackburn and Mrs. Norma Murray were in charge. Games were played throughout the afteroon for the children.
Gifts were presented to the following: Edgar Larson, for being the oldest person present. Shelley Swanson, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Dan Swanson, for the youngest person present, and Mr. & Mrs. Norman Dickson, for the largest family in attendance.
Mr. & Mrs. Robert Murphy and Mr. & Mrs. John Swanson Jr., were elected to head the reunion for next year.
Those attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Edgar Larson, Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Larson, Attica; Mrs. Jessie Deardorf and son, Mr. & Mrs. Dan Swanson and family and Mr. & Mrs. Charles Swanson, LaPorte; Mr. & Mrs. John Swanson Sr., and three grandchildren, Pierceton; Mr. & Mrs. Max King, Bremen; Mr. & Mrs. John Swanson Jr., Warsaw; Frank Swanson, Lafayette.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Max Harris and son, Knightstown; Mr. & Mrs. William Dickson and son, Mr. & Mrs. Ronald Dickson and family and Mr. & Mrs. Robert Saver and family, Lakeville; Mr. & Mrs. Carl Swanson, Mr. & Mrs. Albert Swanson, Mr. & Mrs. Lee Johnson, Mr. & Mrs. Norman Dickson, Mr. & Mrs. Larry Murray and family; Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Blackburn and family and Mr. & Mrs. Paul Howard and family, all of Rochester.
The Sentinel, August 4, 1969
The Rochester Jaycees recently proposed to the community a slogan contest, which Cindy Schroer, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. William Schroer, won. The winning slogan was “Rochester, City of Friendship and Pride.” Miss Schroer was given a $50.00 U.S. Savings Bond for her entry.
The Jaycees decided signboards, to depict the winning slogan, should be erected at the five main entrances into Rochester. Sites for the new signboards have tentatively been selected.
In order for the Jaycees to finance the new signboards erection, contact has been made with several local service organizations for
The community automobile dealers and service station owners also are helping sponser the project through the purchase of license plates which they will resell or use as promotional purposes. Each has the winning slogan on the plate. These are: Barkman Mercury, Enyart Rambler, Hammel Chrysler-Plymouth; Hartman Cadillac, Pontiac, Oldsmobile; Louderback Buick, Chevrolet; McClure Ford; Brown Oil Co; Gaerte’s Speed Shop; Gray’s Phillips “66”, Heyde Oil Co.; Hittle Enco.
Also Kale Standard; King Texaco; Miller Citgo; Miller Standard; Milliser Mobil; Morgan Sinclair; Nissen Citgo; Rogers Marathon; Benzing Gulf, and Benzing Freeway.
Community service clubs will be recognized by emblems that will be displayed on the new signboards upon erection.
The Sentinel, August 19, 1969
The 13th annual Warmbrod reunion was held Aug. 10 at the Fulton County Conservation club. It was reported that a 50th wedding anniversary celebration in November is being planned for Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Warmbrod.
Attending the reunion were: Mrs. Cora Peters, Mr. & Mrs. Willard Peters, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Master and Lemuel Master, Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Warmbrod, Argos; Miss Martha Overmyer and Mike Overmyer, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Samuelson, Allen, Lyle and Wendell, Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Overmyer, :Linda and Tim, Monterey.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Osa Clemons, Bill, Brad, Harriet, Barry, Brent, Elaine and Nanette, Mr. & Mrs. Donald Rock, Darl, Richard, Donna and Jeff, Macy; Mrs. Margaret Lyons, Roann; Mr. & Mrs. Oscar Wesson and Charles Newman, Culver; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Hittle and Randy, Logansport.
Mr. & Mrs. John Warmbrod, Mrs. Mary Rock, Mr. & Mrs. Virgil Sutton, Bob, Connie, Ronnie, Karen and Roy; Mr. & Mrs. James Rock, Sue Ann, Jeff, Joe, James and Jerry, and Mr. & Mrs. Harry John Overmyer, Kay and Judy, Rochester.
Mississinewa Park, Peru
The Sentinel, August 22, 1969
A Heckathorne reunion was held at the Mississinewa Park, Peru, on Aug. 17. The following persons attended the carry-on dinner and social event.
Mr. & Mrs. Charles Olmsted, Mr. & Mrs. Lester Heckathorne, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Nicklas and family, Mr. & Mrs. Henry Heckathorne and Mr. & Mrs. Paul Brucker and family, all of Rochester, Mrs. Gale Black, Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Milton Heckathorne and family, Deedsville.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Cunningham and family, Amboy; Mr. & Mrs. Ed Heckathorne and family and Mrs. Edna Pratt, Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Bledsoe and family, Paris, Ky.; Mr. & Mrs Emmett Jameson and son, Miss Diane Jameson, Mrs. Ida Iddings, Mrs. Gertrude Butt, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Heckathorne, Mrs. Dorothy Cunningham, Mrs. Lelia Cole and Mr. & Mrs. Homer Campbell and family, all of Peru,; and Mr. & Mrs. William Coolman and family, Fort Wayne.
Frank Filbey Home
The Sentinel, August 23, 1969
Filbey descendants gathered together for the first time in over 40 years for a reunion Sunday at the Frank Filbey home, the “Alamo,” at Nyona Lake. Relatives from Ohio, Michigan and Indiana attended.
They are: Mr. & Mrs. George Filbey, Al and Virginia (Filbey) Zoring, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Ramer, Mrs. Norma Boyd and three sons, Niles, Mich.; Gaylon and Lorraine (Filbey) Kravley and son, Columbus, O.; Franklin Filbey Jr., Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Donald Filbey and son, Mr. & Mrs. Homer Bickell, Mr. & Mrs. Douglas Filbey and children, Mark, Scott, Carla and Barb, Logansport.
Also, Mrs. Hazel (Filbey) Bacheller, St. Joseph, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Frank Filbey and son, Robert, Nyona Lake; Earl and Ursa (Filbey) Enyart and Mrs. Grace (Filbey) Porter, Rochester.
The group was entertained through the dinner hour with organ music provided by Morrie and Weldon Turnpaugh. Robert Filbey also entertained in the afternoon with a magic show.
It was decided that a 1970 reunion will be held at the same place.
VAN DUYNE-SHELTON REUN
Van Duyne Block-Gravel
The Sentinel, August 27, 1969
Forty-two relatives and friends were present at the Van Duyne-Shelton reunion held Sunday at the Van Duyne Block and Gravel company grounds. A carry-in dinner was held at noon with Fred Van Duyne saying grace.
It was voted to hold a reunion next year at the same place on the third Sunday in August with Mae Crill in charge of preparations.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Virgil Van Duyne, Indianapolis; Mrs. Randy Masterson and Robin, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Elson Holdread and family, Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Fredrick Van Duyne and family, Argos; and Mr. & Mrs. Don Van Duyne, Kewanna.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Rose and family, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Crill and daughter, Susan, Cathy Zimmerman, Tina Zartman, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Braman and family and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne, all of Rochester.
VAN LUE REUN
Chloris Barkman Home.
The Sentinel, August 29, 1969
The James Van Lue family met at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Chloris Barkman Sunday. Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Miller were assistant host and hostess. A basket dinner was served at noon and the afternoon was spent socially. Home-made ice cream was served in the afternoon.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Leonard Van Lue Sr., and daughter; Mr. & Mrs. Hubert Van Lue and son; Mr. & Mrs. Charles White and family, all from Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Ronnie Van Lue and son, Fort Wayne.
Also,, Mr. & Mrs. Bob Metzger, West Lafayette; Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Fuller and son, New Carlisle, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Jerry Kerr and family, Grove City, O.; Mr. & Mrs. John Van Lue and family, Syracuse; and Mr. & Mrs. James Barkman, all of Rochester.
The next reunion will be the fourth Sunday in August, 1970, at Indianapolis.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, Sept. 3, 1969
The 39th reunion of the John Gottschalk family was held at the Rochester City Park Aug. 31 with a basket dinner at noon. There were 36 members and nine guests present.
Guests were Mr. & Mrs. Carl J. Gottschalk, Mrs. Fred Gottschalk, Mrs. Phillip Miller, Mrs. Arthur W. Roeder, Mr. & Mrs. Herman Rettinger Sr., and Mr. & Mrs. Clayton Gottschalk, all of Bourbon.
The business meeting was conducted by the president, Vachel Walters. Mrs. Ted Tuley gave the secretary-treasurer’s report. It was voted to have the 1970 reunion on Sept. 6 at the Rochester City Park. Anyone having old family pictures is to bring them at next year’s reunion.
An election of officers was held with the following being elected: president, Lyman Gottschalk, Lagro; vice-president, Vachel Walters, Kewanna; and secretary-treasurer, Mary Ruth Keim, Rochester.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, Sept. 4, 1969
Forty-seven persons attended the Oliver J. Borden reunion at Rochester City Park Sunday, Aug. 31.
The following families attended: Joe & June Borden, Logansport; Ed Clayburn, North Carolina; Bill and Helen Clayburn, Paoli, Ind.; Oliver and Mary Clayburn, Eagles, Mich.; Duane and Barbara Clayburn, Hinsdale, Ill.; Dave and Eleanor Carey, Warsaw; Jim and Karolyn Carey, Fort Wayne.
Also, Don and Julia Hudkins, Greencastle; Dick and Kate Goshart, Warsaw; Robert and Jennifer Van Lue, Elkhart; Margie Pfaff, Indanapolis; Casper and Rosett Stout, and Robert and Donna Clemans, all of Rochester.
Sover Lake Clubhouse
The Sentinel, Sept. 6, 1969
The Riley family held a reunion on Sunday at the Sover Lake Conservation clubhouse.
Attending were: Mrs. Ellis Riley, Mr. & Mrs. Ira Spurlock, Mr
& Mrs. Robert Overmyer, Mrs. Susan Hartle, Walter Riley, and Mr. & Mrs. Lyle Vandermark and Randy, Roy, Michelle, all of Rochester; Ray Riley, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Haupert, Mrs. Irene Baber, Terry Dixon and Mr. & Mrs. Max Roberts and Joyce, all of Akron.
Also, Dan Riley, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Joe French and Mr. & Mrs. S.L. Parker, Warsaw; Mr. & Mrs. William Riley, Silver Lake; Mr. & Mrs. Ted Riley, Phil Riley and his fiancé, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Monroe Riley, Ft. Wayne; and Mr. & Mrs. Le Vaughan Gross and Aaron, Peru.
Pur. John Savage
The Sentinel, November 10, 1969
The Akron Cafe will be reopened for business on Monday, Dec. 1, under the new management of Mr. & Mrs. John Savage of Macy.
The Savages have purchased the business and building from the former owner, Joe Madeford. The restaurant has been closed for the past month.
The Savages have two sons, Bob, 19, a student at Lincoln Technical Automotive school, Indianapolis, and Fred, 16, a junior at Akron high school. They have purchased land in Akron and plan to move there soon.
Mr. & Mrs. Savage formerly operated a restaurant at Macy three years.
The cafe in Akron will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m., seven days a week. It also will remain open following all Akron basketball games.
DEAN FOODS CO.
Thomas Ravencroft, V.Pres.
The Sentinel, November 20, 1969
Thomas Ravencroft, Rochester native, has been appointed vice-president in charge of corporate planning for Dean Foods company. His promotion was announced today by Sam Dean, chairman of the board of directors as part of general organizational changes within the company. All are effective in January.
Ravemcrpft is the son of Mr. & Mrs. Edward Ravencroft, 608 Jefferson street, and began work at Dean’s Rochester milk plant upon graduaion from Rochester high school. He became manager of the local plant and then was promoted to administrative duties.
In recent years he has served at Dean plants at Flint, Mich., Belvedere, Ill., and Memphis, Tenn. Currently he resides at Rockford, Ill., and has been in charge of Dean’s expansion planning.
Ravencroft and his wife, the former Janet Gohn of Rochester, are the parents of two children.
Dean said the organizational changes were made “so the great talents and energies of some of our younger executives can be more complctely utilized.”
Mgr., David Murphy
The Sentinel, December 3, 1969
The Karn Hotel, 710-1/2 Main street, reopened Tuesday under the management of Mr. & Mrs. David Murphy. Murphy and his wife, Betty, moved to Rochester from Indianapolis.
The 14 rooms of the hotel have been completely redecorated and are ready for occupancy, Murphy said.
Mr. & Mrs. Archie McKee, former managers of the hotel, have moved to Florida.
FULTON CO COM SALE
Pur, Orland L. Boone
The Sentinel, December 22 , 1969
Fulton County Community Sale, one of Indiana’s largest farm livestock auctions, has been sold to Orland L. Boone of St. Anne, Ill., it was announced today by Carl Newcomb, owner of the business for the past 25 years.
Newcomb will direct his last sale at the North Fulton avenue firm this Saturday and Boone will take possession Dec. 31.
The new owner said the business will be operated under the name of Rochester Sale Barn, but otherwise will continue the same policies and management as under Newcomb.
Kline Blacketor Jr., who has been associated with the local sale for 20 years, is to remain as manager along with office personnel of Mrs. Alice Morrill, Mrs. Erma Sutton, Mrs. Vida Nichols, Miss Becky Ault and Eddie Snyder.
Burdette Garner and Lavern Shrader, both of whom have worked the sale ring here for over 20 years, are to continue as auctioneers.
Boone, the new owner, has been engaged in cattle feeding, hog
raising and general farming near St. Anne, which is located near Kankakee, Ill. He and his wife, Darlynne, are the parents of three children, Darla, 23, residing in Florida, and Linda, 22, and Danny, 17, both at home. The family will move to the city as soon as possible; the son remaning at St. Anne to complete his senior year in high school.
Newcomb said he has no immediate plans other than management of his farm interests in the county.
In the 25 years of Newcomb’s ownership and operation of Fulton County Community Sale, the business has shown continued growth and popularity among consigners of cattle, hogs and sheep. This year it will reach almost $6 million in gross sales, making it one of the state’s largest.
Sales are held each Saturday throughout the year unless Christmas falls on that day and will average 10 hours in length with some Saturdays extending 12 hours.
The number of consignors of livestock on sale day here range from 200 to 300 with 80-90 buyers purchasing animals. As many as 115 buyers have been recorded at a single sale.
Consignors and buyers at the Fulton County Community Sale represent a wide area of Indiana, involving 19 counties and 49 different communities. Patrons come to the city for the Saturday sales from as widely separated cities as Lowell, LaGrange, Rolling Prairie, Plainfield, Lafayette, Huntington, Michigan City, South Bend, Fort Wayne and Rensselaer, to name only a few.
Says Newcomb: “The general impression that sale barns are on the way out is not true here. We sold 333 more cattle and approximately 1,300 more hogs in the first 11 months of this year than we did for the same period in 1968. We are proud of the fact that our sale barn is one of the few whose volume continues to increase.”
Fulton County Community Sale is the direct descendant of the first farm sale barn in Indiana, begun here over 50 years ago by the late Tom McMahan on a vacant lot where the postoffice now stands.
Newcomb bought the sale barn at its present location from the late Robert P. Moore, and on his first Saturday, Jan. 27, 1945, needed only about four hours to sell the livestock consigned for the day.
The firm employs 40 persons in various capacities of the operation.
SEALED POWER CORP
Henry S. Thompson
The Sentinel, January 8, 1970
Henry S. Thompson has been promoted to the position of manufacturing engineer at Sealed Power corporation’s Rochester plant, according to Wesley Cross, plant manager.
Thompson replaces James Farnsworth, who retired last month.
Thompson started with Sealed Power in May of 1954 as a routing and tool engineer, a position he held until his recent promotion.
He and his wife, Augusta, reside at 417 Clayton street with their three children - Edith, Matt and Judy.
D.K. Downs, Promoted
The Sentinel, January 22, 1970
D.K. Downs, a resident of Westfield, N.J., and a native of Rochester, has been promoted assistant vice president for merchandising with the F.W. Woolwoth Co. He has been a director of buying and sales with the company since 1967.
Downs, a native of Rochester, began with Woolworth as a tranee in 1924 in Hammond. From 1927 to 1939 he managed stores in the Chcago area and in 1940 was named district manager in the company’s Chicago district office. From 1946 until 1951 he was merchandise manager in this district.
Following four years as director of merchandise and sales, in 1954 he was named assistant regional manager, a position he also held in the company’s St. Louis district office in 1956. In 1959 Downs moved to Woolworth’s executive office as the assistant to the general sales manager, and in 1960 he was in charge of the St. Louis regional
office. He returned to the executive office in 1962 and was named a director for buying and sales in 1967.
Downs is the son of the late Maude Downs Dielman who resided at 920 Jefferson street.
Pur David Burkett
The Sentinel, February 12, 1970
One of the oldest businesses in Fulton county has changed ownership with the sale of the Hatfield grocery store at Talma by Ralph Hatfield to Mr. & Mrs. David Burkett of Akron.
The store has been in the Hatfield family for 85 years.
Hatfield, who has been associated with the store all his life, will operate a paint store next to the grocery. He is a member of the Fulton County Council.
Burkett, a member of the Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation board of trustees, will be assisted by his wife Shirley, in operation of the grocery store. He is the son of Mr. & Mrs. Norman Burkett, RR 1, Akron.
John Doe Honored
The Sentinel, March 9, 1970
We offer the following statement from The Post-Herald in Wyoming, Ill., because it says something that a lot of people are thinking these days out here in the land of the silent majority:
The time has come to proclaim another “day.” I suggest we set aside a day to honor plain John Doe. The name refers to those - white, black or any other color - who have worked hard all their lives to gain the advantages and possessions they have, scrimping and saving to raise children and buy a home.
John Doe never has rioted, marched in protests, participated in strikes affecting the community welfare, and does not believe it is necessary to turn everything upside down to correct some of the obvious flaws in our society.
John Doe is the guy who still believes the Stars and Stripes are to be respected, and stand for the greatest country on earth - with the most opportunity for all who are willing to work hard for the opportunities and freedom it provides.
He is not whining and complaining because he is not handed a job he is not yet entitled to, or walking out in childish petulance because he is not given everything somebody urged him to demand.
John Doe is the one who sits in impotent resentment watching television interviews of every malcontent who thinks he has a grievance. There are no television interviews with John Doe to find out how he made the grade without violent confrontations and to find out how he thinks is right, rather than wrong, with the country.
Oddly enough, John Doe still believes our system of government can correct social problems without confrontng his elected representatives with vociferous, unruly invasion of legislative sessions.
So let us give John Doe the recognition he deserves as the one
who quietly works hard to pay for all the advances made by organized pressure groups at his expense.
He may be a square, but most substantial buildings are made from square blocks. - - - - -
Destroyed by Fire
The Sentinel, March 27, 1970
Rochester’s worst downtown fire since the Bracket building blaze of early 1956 destroyed the Don Harvey appliance store at 504 Main street and seriously damaged Norman Colty’s Rochester Casket and Funeral Supply Store next door south Thursday night.
Fire Chief John Richards said a preliminary estimate of damage is $50,000 to $60,000. - -- - -
Opening by Traeger
The Sentinel, March 28, 1970
Rochester’s newest retail business, The Showcase, will open Monday at 622 Main street, next to the Times Theatre. The quarers formerly were occupied by Foley’s Jewelers.
Owned and operated by Mr. and Mrs. Robert Traeger, 1322 Hill street. The Showcase will feature custom framing, gifts and interior decorating service.
Traeger, who owned and operated the Manitou Art Gallery on East Ninth street for four years, has been in sales work all his life. His wife, Julie, was interior decorator specialist for Cook Brothers Furniture store for 3-1/2 years. She received training in the specialty at New York university.
The Traegers have resided in Rochester for 19 years and have been active in vaious civic activities.
Oil paintings, mostly from Europe, and prints, boh framed and unframd, will be featured at The Showcase, along with many gift items such as glassware, pottery, lamps and a large assortment of wall accessories, greeting cards and wedding invittions also will be available.
The Traegers will cater to engaged young women, who are invited to list their names on a bridal registration.
The public will be welcome at all times to browse in the store at leisure.
Mgr. Rachel Templeton
The Sentinel, April 7, 1970
The “Sewing Center,” which will open Friday at 804 Main street, will have wide appeal for the home seamstress, it was announced today by its manager, Mrs. Rachel Templeton. - - - - -
CULVER MIL. ACADEMY
The Sentinel, April 22, 1970
Culver, Ind. (AP) - Culver Military Academy announced today it will end a 77-year tradition by going coeducational in September 1971.
“The board feels that the addition of an academy for girls on the campus of a boys’ school will provide an enrichment of the total program of both schools, a superior education for both sexes, and greater recognition of the importance of natural relationships between boys and girls,” said a spokesman for the Culver Educational Foundation.
The prestigious military academy in northern Indiana has had a summer school for girls the last six years, and said it decided to become fully co-educational after a three-year study. - - - - -
Culver has a shortage of about 100 pupils this year in its boarding capacity of 832. It has an annual operating budget of $5 million on a 1,500 acre campus, and about half the incme is from tuition. - - - - -
Judy Burton, State V. Chmn.
The Sentinel, May 18, 1970
Mrs. Bryce (Judy) Burton of Lake Manitou reached the highest post that any Fulton county resident ever has achieved in Indiana political circles when she was elected vice chairman of the state Democratic committee in Indianapolis Saturday afternoon.
Mrs. Burton, vice chairman of the Fulton County Democratic Central committee and of the Fifth District Democratic committee, succeeds Mrs. Agnes Woolery of Bloomington, who did not seek reelection. - - - - -
MT. ZION SCHOOL REUN
Van Duyne Block & Gravel
The Sentinel, July 7, 1970
The 13th annual reunion of the former pupils and teachers of the one-room school at Mt. Zion was held Saturday at the Van Duyne Block and Gravel company grounds with 25 persons in attendance. A basket dinner was held at the noon hour, with Estil Ginn giving the before-the-meal prayer.
During the business session which was conducted by the secretary, the only officer present, Fred Van Duyne was elected president and Mrs. Fred Van Duyne was re-elected secretary-treasurer.
The four former teachers present were Fred Deardorff, Estil Ginn, Clifford Baggerley and Fred Van Duyne. The teachers contributed to the program for the afternoon by recalling memories and reciting poems learned during school days.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff, Richmond; Mr. & Mrs. Chester A. Newcombe, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Zeller, Mr. & Mrs. Leroy Garner, Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Baggerley, Mrs. Henry Moore and Clarice, Claude Butler, Mrs. Deloise Severns, Joe Van Duyne, Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Estil Ginn, LaVon Whistler, Mrs. Lloyd Pickens, Mrs. Ed Fishback, Floyd Deardorff, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne, Rochester.
Thomas A. Yocom, Hired
The Sentinel, July 13, 1970
Thomas A. Yocom, 24, Culver, has joined the news staff of The Rochester Sentinel as sportswriter-reporter-photographer.
A native of Winamac, he has resided in Culver almost all his life. He served in the U.S. Navy for four years following graduation from Culver high school and a year’s study at Indiana State university.
Yocom and his wife have a three-week-old daughter, Christine Noel. His wife is the former Jeanne Kay Adams, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. A.E. Adams. Her father owned the Basement Barber Shop in Rochester for many years.
Yocom’s parents are Dr. & Mrs. E.J. Yocom. The father is a Culver veterinarian. Yocom has a brother, James, 16, Culver, and a sister, Mrs. Shari L. Lane, Joliet, Ill.
Yocom and his family will move to Rochester when suitable housing is located.
Paul Brucker Res
The Sentinel, July 21, 1970
The Brucker reunion was held July 12 at the country home of Mr. & Mrs. Paul Brucker, RR 2. Rochester, with a basket dinner being held.
The following attended: Mr. & Mrs. Reynald Danti, Mr. & Mrs. Jay Reinholt, Paul Danti and son, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Brucker Jr., all of Monterey; Mr. & Mrs. James Perry and son, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence Perry and daughter, Kewanna.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Ed Robin, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Robert McKee, Anderson; Mr. & Mrs. James Reinholt and daughters; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Brucker Sr.. all of Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Schafer, Chicago, Ill.; and Mr. & Mrs. Paul Brucker and daughters.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 29, 1970
The family of Stephen Fansler met at the City Park Sunday for their annual reunion.
Those in attendance, were: Mrs. Bertha Zeider and family, Niles, Mich; Mrs. Mary Chambers and family, Logansport; Mrs. William Fansler and family, Peru; Mrs. Amy Crabb and son, Kewanna; Mrs. Emma Fansler and family, Logansport.
Also, the family of Mrs. Vola Clawson, Lester Fansler and family, Gary; Gilbert Fansler, Milwaukee,; Mrs. Earl Fansler, Mr. & Mrs. James Johnson and family and Mr. & Mrs. Art Fansler, all of Rochester.
Guests were Mrs. Mnnie Pieske, Mrs. Emma Hermanson, and Chester and Joan Overmyer.
A basket dinner was served and the day was spent socially.
Akron City Park
The Sentinel, July 31, 1970
The fourth annual reunion of the descendants of the Henry Miller family met at the Akron City Park Sunday. Following the picnic meal, Don E. Reynolds, president, conducted a short business meeting.
Officials elected for the 1971 reunion, to be held the fourth Sunday in July at Sycamore, Ill., are: President, Mrs. Everett Bishop,
Peru; vice-president, Mrs. Iram Zolman, Claypool, and Mrs. John Bush, Marion, secretary-treasurer
Attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Joe Day, Richard Day and son, Judith Sayger, and Versa Smth, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Everett Bishop, Mr. & Mrs. Mike Reichling, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Bishop and family, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Bishop and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Rudy Hendricks, Peru.
Also, Mrs. Dollie Miller, Mr. & Mrs. Charles N. Miller and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Don Reynolds and family, Mrs. Margaret Shearer and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Gregory Miller, Mr. & Mrs. Jacob A. Miller and son, Mr. & Mrs. James L. Miller, Mrs. Carrie Miller, Mrs. Flo Miller, Henry and Kerry Riffle, Sue King, and Sue Stafford, Rochester.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. John Bush, Mr. & Mrs. Mike Bush, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Bockover, Miss Janice Bockover, Max Shaffer, and Patty Brunn, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Ensley, Sweetser; Mrs. Irma Zolman, Claypool; Laura Wright, Goshen; Mr. & Mrs. Jim Harold, Rock Falls, Ill.; and Mr. & Mrs. Robert Miller, South Bend.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 6, 1970
The descendants of the late Ezra and Ida R. Rouch held their 10th annual reunion at the Rochester City Park Sunday. Fifty-two relatives and four guests attended the basket dinner, held at the noon hour.
Loyd Rouch conducted the business session. The reunion will be held at the City Park again next year on the first Sunday in August.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 7, 1970
The Richardson reunion was held Sunday at Rochester City Park. Attending besides the guest of honor, Mrs. Sadie Sartzlander, were:
Mrs. Rebecca J. Stephen and Miss Barbara Brown, Racine, Wis.; Mrs. Hester Schild, Minneapolis, Minn.; Dr. & Mrs. E. Kochenderfer, Bellwood, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Burkey and family, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. John Botich and Mr. & Mrs. Walter Botich, South Bend.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Darr, Bremen; Mr. & Mrs. Lester
Bryant, Phoenix, Ariz.; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Jefferies, Tippecanoe; Mr. & Mrs. James Shaffer and friends, Peru; and Mr. & Mrs. Robert Utter, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Foor, and Mr. & Mrs. Devane Felts, Rochester.
Jack Musser Camp Site
The Sentinel, August 11, 1970
The Wagoner reunion was held Sunday at the camp site of Mr. & Mrs. Jack Musser. The cookout and picnic gathering was attended by 17 relatives and 10 guests.
Guests were from Missouri, Kokomo, Logansport, Plymouth and Rochester. A business meeting was held by Omar Wagoner, president, and Vicki Curtis, secretary-treasurer.
It was decided to hold the next reunion at the James Tobey residence.
VAN DUYNE-SHELTON REUN
Van Duyne Block & Gravel Co
The Sentinel, August 20, 1970
The annual Van Duyne-Shelton reunion was held Sunday at the Van Duyne Block & Gravel company grounds. Forty relatives attended a carry-in dinner at the noon hour.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Don Van Duyne and Mr. & Mrs. Bill Fisher and family, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Elson Holdread and family, Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Frederick Van Duyne and family, Argos.
Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Rose and family, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Braman and family and Mr. & Mrs. Harold Crill and daughter, all of Rochester.
The reunion will be held next year at the same place, the third Sunday in August
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, Sept. 11, 1970
The 40th reunion of the John Gottschalk family was held Sunday, at the Rochester City Park with 48 persons in attendance.
After a basket dinner at noon, the president, Lyman Gottschalk, conducted a short business meeting. Correspondence was read from Walter Gottschalk, Manitowoc, Wis., and Clement Gottschalk, Berne,
Copies of the Gottschalk family history, dating back to 1808, were handed out. The same officers will serve for 1971. They are, president, Lyman Gottschalk of Lagro; vice-president, Vachel Walters of Kewanna, and secretary-treasurer, Mary Ruth Keim of Rochester.
Those present were: Mrs. Dora Gottschalk, Mr. & Mrs. Vachel Walters, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Mutchler of Kewanna; Mrs. Elnora Lind, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Bridge and Vicki, Mrs. Ruby Gottschalk of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Lease and Robyn of Lucerne.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Lyman Gottschalk of Lagro; Mr. & Mrs. Donald Mutchler and family of Elwood; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Marshman of Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Lester Gottschalk and Gene of South Whitley; Mr. & Mrs. Dan Gottschalk of Lafayette; Mr. & Mrs. Joe Gottschalk of North Manchester.
Mr. & Mrs. Omer Wagoner, Sandra and Jeffery Wagoner, Bill Gottschalk, Sherri and Lisa Gottschalk, Mr. & Mrs. Eldon Graves and Tammy of Kokomo; Mrs. Geneva Davis, Mrs. Pearl Hiland, Mrs. Ralph Schindler, Miss Karen Kurapka, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Gottschalk, Mrs. Alice Fouts and Mrs. Fred Keim and Keith of Rochester.
For Harold Duffs
The Sentinel, October 29, 1970
Thirty friends and neighbors of the Harold Duff family gathered at the Duff farm this week to harvest soy beans and sow wheat. Mr. Duff is a patient at Wabash County hospital, Wabash, following an automobile accident, Sept. 18.
Helping were: Richard Baker, Paul Eber, Kenneth Depoy, Oliver Mikesell, Kenneth Neely, Audra Bryant, Tim Bryant, Rodney Bryant, Terry Baird, Ralph Depoy, Frank Cripe, Lonnie Cripe, Gene Baker, Jerry Baker, Melvin Wagoner, Ron Gundrum,
Clyde Neff, Dan Hauser, Everett Newell, Frank Cripe, Harry Johnson, Forest Heyde, Dean Neff, George Schael, Miller Ault, Dan Sommers, Dale Sommers, Harold Beaudoin, John Eshelman, and Robert Baker.
The Home Circle club provided sandwiches and coffee. Others will harvest corn at a later date
SEARS ROEBUCK & CO.
John D. Taylor
The Sentinel, November 6 1970
John D. Taylor, Rochester high school Class of ‘47, became general manager of Sears Roebuck and company’s Chicago Retail Group Thursday.
In his new assignment, he will supervise the operations of 41 stores in Chicago’s metropolitan area.
Taylor, a native of Rochester, for the past year has been general manager of Sears Midwestern Retail Zone, which comprises stores in Illinois, Indiana, Eastern Iowa and Michigan. Zone headquarters are in Aurora, Ill.
He joined the company in 1947 as a management trainee following graduation from Indiana university with a BS degree in business administration. His subsequent assignments have included store manager in Springfield and Columbus, O.; national home fashions merchandise staff member and administrative assistant to the Midwestern Territory vice-president.
Taylor is married to the former Loveda Alice Cassman of Lafayette. They have three children - Jeffrey, 23, now in military service, Jan, 18, a freshman at Ohio university in Miami, and Daniel, 17. The family resides in suburban Elmhurst, Ill.
Taylor is the son of Hubert and the late Mrs. Taylor. The father, who owned and operated the former Hubert’s Shoes of Rochester, now resides at the Indiana Methodist Home in Franklin.
JOBSITE TRAILER CORP
Coming to Rochester
The Sentinel, November 18 1970
Jobsite Trailer Corporation announced today that it has purchased five acres of land on the east edge of Rocheter and will start construction next week of a manufactuing building of 9,600 square feet.
Roy Swartz of Elkhart, president of Jobsite, said that the firm hopes to be in production by Jan. 1. Jobsite will manufacture office trailers used by construction companies on building sites, as well as specialty traileers for both business and living uses.
A storage building also is to be erected here along with the manufacturing structure.- - - - -
Swartz is a Rochester native, the son of Mr. & Mrs. Friendy
Swartz of this city. He also is president of Technical Dimensions, a trailer manufacturing concern in Elkhart.
COAST TO COAST STORE
To Open After Xmas
The Sentinel, November 30, 1970
The Coast to Coast store now being outfitted in the quarters formerly occupied by Harvey’s dime store in the Wile building will open sometime after Christmas.
This was the report today from Don Peter and his wife, Marilyn, owners of the franchise.- - - - -
Peter and his wife are from Homewood, Ill., a southwest suburb of Chicago, where he has been in the road construction business for 10 years. They are members of the Christian church and Peter has been active in Boy Scout work.
They plan to move to 1030 Monroe street in the next three weeks with their four children - Greg, 13, Laura, 11, Donna, 8, and Danny, 16 months. Peter’s mother, Mrs. G.W. Peter, will live here with them and will work in the store part time.
Pur. John Savage 92
By Helen Bryant Nichols 68
Plymouth City Park 9
BLUE PROD. CO
Pur Garry Daniels 1
Roch City Park 91
BOWER HOMES INC.
Doyle’s Home Mart 42
Roch City Park 37
Pur Mark A. Scheiber 53
Paul Brucker Res 100
Burger Dairy Store
Owner, Harold Collins 14
Roch City Park 14, 34
Bob Brubaker 27
Opening Next Week 79
COAST TO COAST STORE
To Open After Xmas 105
John Doe Honored 96
By Neighbors 27
CRYSTAL DAIRY PROD
Bldg Pur, Roch Dvlpmnt Co 55
Closing Plant Here 24
Pur Bernard Eller 46
CULVER MIL. ACADEMY
Going Coeducational 98
DEAN FOODS CO.
Thomas Ravencroft, V.Pres. 92
DEAN MILK CO
Mgr, Thomas L. Rose 17
By Alice Sprecher 43
Judy Burton, State V. Chmn. 98
To Be Closed 32
Destroyed by Fire 97
Center Lake, Warsaw 84
Pioneer, O.D. Ross 15
Phoebe Snow, Last Trip 19
Roch City Park 86, 100
Frank Filbey Home 89
FIRST NATL BANK
Albert M. Price, Pres 49
FIRST NATNL BANK
James W. McAllister, V.Pres. 50
In Rochester 65
REUN, Roch City Park 13
New Location 13
Reopening New Location 81
FOREST FARMS PRODS
Partner, Cumberland 41
FOREST FARMS PRODS.
Pur Robert M. Smith 40
Forest Pike, Vice Pres 41
FULTON CO COM SALE
Pur, Orland L. Boone 93
FULTON CO LBR CO
Removing Landmark 78
FULTON CO. HOME
Pur, Robert Peterson 21
New Location 23
Is Dedicated 7
Auto Motor Blocks 4
Roch City Park 91, 102
What is It’s Future? 33
Dean Neff, Inventor 35
H. & R. BLOCK
Opsns Office Here 67
Haimbaugh Farm 51
Roch City Park 9, 49
Harrison Funrl Home
Pur Max Metzger 26
HARVEY’S DIME STORE
Pur David Burkett 95
HEADSTONE, NEW ONE
For “Uncle’ Johnny Patton 6
Mississinewa Park, Peru 89
HIRSCH & CO. STORE
Mgr, Mike Fitzgerald 48
Hughes, Mgr. 80
Logansport Park 36
Pur Robert Truitt 66
IMCO POULTRY INC.
Closed Hatchery 44
Roch City Park 18
IND METAL PRODS
Maurice Brash, promoted 56
INDIANA METAL PROD.
Gen Mgr, Val Pemberton 22
In Remodeled Bldg 4
JOBSITE TRAILER CORP
Coming to Rochester 104
Mgr., David Murphy 93
Open Grocery 38
Hazel Retires 38
How It Was Named 56
Changes Hands 7
Kewanna Metal Spectls
Buys Johnon-Stuart Bldg. 19
Raymond Fenstermacher 29
John Heiliger, Mgr 48
Mgr., Darrel Steel 23
LEASE OFFICE MACHS
Pur Tombaugh Building 45
Plaque Dedicated 26
Pur Robert DeBruler 34
Jack Thompson, Res. 86
Roch City Park 85
Plymouth Park 54
MANITOU ART GALLERY
Robert Traeger 24
Bert Gillespie Res 48
Akron City Park 100
Roch City Park 35
Opens April 17 47
Akron Park 17
MT. ZION SCHOOL REUN
At Van Duyne Block 83
Van Duyne Block 29, 50
Van Duyne Block & Gravel 9, 99
Nyona Lake 14
Do Farm Work 67
For Harold Duffs 103
Robert Delp, Operator 77
Roch City Park 11
Owner James Watrous 3
To Change Hands 8
Opening Here 3
Rochester Jaycees 87
REED SCHOOL REUN
At Olive Branch 82
Roch City Park 101
Sover Lake Clubhouse 91
Colonial Hotel 11
Lakeside Inn 84, 82
Mar-Lo, Kewanna 31
Robbins Farm Implements
Pur Charles Fear 20
ROCH EQUIP. CO
Pur. Don Scales 80
ROCH LDRY & DRY CLG
Destroyed by Fire 21
ROCH MONUMENT WORKS
ROCH. ICE & COAL
Russell Moore, Retires 39
Thomas A. Yocom, Hired 99
Mgr, Richard Allen 76
RORO CAR WASH
Opening Memorial Day 25
Roch City Park 101
Noah Rudd Home 38
SEALED POWER CORP
Henry S. Thompson 95
SEARS CATALOG STORE
Mgr, Si Arnold 55
John D. Taylor 42
SEARS ROEBUCK & CO
John D. Taylor 104
Opening by Glen Rayl 81
Mgr. Rachel Templeton 98
Opening by Traeger 97
SONOCO PROD CO
H.M. Byrd, Moves Up 46
Russell C. King, Mgr. 47
SONOCO PRODS CO
Addition Completed 30
M.L. Spurlock Home 28
STHRN NITROGEN CO
At Fulton 10
Scott Stinson Res 15
Roch City Park 34
Akron Park 12
Joe Kistler Home 28
Roch City Park 87
Buys Quality Fasteners Inc 45
Roch City Park 54
TAYLOR’S Shoe Store
Pur Robert Rowe 2
Pur. Cinecom Corp 82
Owner, Don Harvey 3
VAN DUYNE-SHELTON REUN
Van Duyne Block & Gravel Co 102
Van Duyne Block-Gravel 90
VAN LUE REUN
Chloris Barkman Home. 90
Jack Musser Camp Site 102
Jack Thompson, Res. 86
Conservation Club 88
Mgr, Richard Gearhart 21
D.K. Downs, Promoted
FULTON COUNTY INDIANA
Special Thanks to Jack K. Overmyer for suggesting the title.
Wendell C. Tombaugh
700 Pontiac Street
Rochester, Indiana 46975
This book, and all other Tombaugh books, are available at no charge on
//www.fulco.lib.in.us/ (Fulton County Public Library website)